Chapstick and Tortilla Soup

I’m having a pro-chapstick week. I do this every once in a while. Suddenly, I remember I own 42 different half-used chapsticks (hidden in a variety of pants, purses, and pockets) and I decide to use them. Every 3-5 minutes, I’ve been applying and reapplying. And my lips? They’ve never been softer. I’d put up a pic, but I’m not really into selfies and I’m not that sure that you’d really be able to see the difference. Trust me though. There is a difference.

Another benefit to my overly moisturized lips is that I can once again consume salty foods without my chapped, split, and dehydrated winter lips feeling the salty burn. Don’t judge. You’ve been there and you know just how terrible that situation can be. Youch!

Go grab your chapstick and start applying while you’re making this gem of a recipe. This (somewhat salty)  soup is good on its own, but it’s also one of those dishes that gets 100% better when you start throwing some sweet (or salty) garnishes on top (i.e. chips, green onions, avocado, cilantro, lime… the list goes on).

FotoFlexer_Photo

Tortilla Soup
Source: Martha Stewart
Printable Recipe

1T olive oil
1 small white onion
4 cloves garlic, minced
1T chili powder
1/2T cumin
2 (14oz) cans diced tomatoes
2 (15oz) cans black beans, drained and rinsed
3C vegetable broth
1 (10oz) package frozen corn
salt, pepper
tortilla chips, for serving
fresh limes, for serving

Heat olive oil in large soup pot over medium heat. Add onion and cook until translucent, about 3-4 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Add garlic, cumin, and chili. Cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.
Add in tomatoes with juice, beans, broth and corn. If mixture seems to thick, add additional 1C broth (or water).
Bring mixture to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Stir occasionally. Simmer for 20 minutes. Taste and add additional salt/pepper if needed.
Remove from heat. Stir in lime juice.
Serve with a handful of crushed tortillas and additional toppings as needed — and they will be needed.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

