Thai Tofu Quinoa Bowls

DSC_3206

Nothing gets me more motivated than the Olympics. N-O-T-H-I-N-G. These athletes are so incredibly talented that my eyes nearly pop out of their sockets as I watch them compete. I mean, really???? These things are humanly possible?

“If that guy can do 15 flips on a snowboard zooming wearing nothing but oversized pants and a flimsy helmet…. I guess I can get on this treadmill and run a mile.”

“If that gal can jump on a small rather unsafe looking sled and head down a mountain head first going 80mph, I guess I can go to a 30 min spin class.”

“If that ‘old’ 36 year old can ski down a hill zooming left and right and left and right, I guess I can get up out of bed this morning.”

I’d like to thank all the Olympians for the extra motivation this week. Because of you, I made it to work, to the gym, to the grocery store, and even got my laundry done. Thanks.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Thai Tofu Quinoa Bowls 
Source: Froedert Bariatric Surgery Website 
Printable Recipe

1 (15oz) package extra firm tofu, drained, pressed, and diced into 1/2″ cubes
2T soy sauce
1T sesame oil
1C uncooked quinoa
1 3/4C vegetable broth
1/4C slivered almonds, toasted
1C shredded carrots
3-4 green onions, chopped
1/2C fresh chopped cilantro

For the sauce:
1T peanut butter
1/2-1 T Sriracha (to taste)
2T rice wine vinegar
3T coconut milk
1T brown sugar
1 clove garlic, minced
1tsp fresh grated ginger
1T fresh squeezed lime juice

extra garnish: lime quarters

Preheat oven to 350.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Toss tofu, soy sauce, and sesame oil in bowl. Arrange tofu in a single layer on prepped baking sheet.
Bake tofu at 350 for 30-35 minutes, turning a few times to ensure even cooking.
While tofu is cooking, cook quinoa. Heat broth and quinoa in a pan over medium heat. Once broth boils, reduce to simmer and cover. Cook for 12 minutes, until liquid is absorbed. Remove from heat and fluff with a fork.
While the quinoa is cooking make the sauce. Heat peanut butter for a few seconds in the microwave. Whisk in remaining ingredients. Taste and adjust seasonings.
To assemble: mix tofu, quinoa, carrots, cilantro, and green onions. Top with a drizzle of the sauce, extra sriracha (if desired), toasted almonds, and lime wedges.
Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

