Citrus Ricotta Cookies: 2 Ways

I went to the grocery store for lemons to make these cookies. Not surprisingly, I left with a bagful of lemons… and a bagful of blood oranges. I stopped making grocery lists when I realized I never followed them anyways.

I had almost (key word: almost) forgotten about the ever-so-lovely blood orange beauties… and their crazy beautiful color… and magnificent taste. Perhaps what makes them most magical is the fact that I can only really find them for a few short weeks around this time of year. Rarity makes the heart grow fonder. I think. These oranges were made even more beautiful by the fact that they were on sale.  When I saw them hanging out right next to the lemons, I thought to myself, ‘I bet I can totally swap the lemon components for blood orange components and the recipe will still turn out.’ Total lightbulb moment in the produce section. Did I ever tell you I’m a total culinary genius? I’m not, but swapping citrus for citrus seemed like a foolproof swap.

And it was.

So, I’m sure the next most logical question would be to ask which citrus cookie I preferred.

FotoFlexer_Photo

The verdict?

I hate to be indecisive, but I can’t decide.  I ate 10 of the lemon, which are tart and sweet and perfect. I ate 10 of the blood orange, which are perfectly pink and sweet and perfect. And then I ate 10 more. It turns out you can’t go wrong – either way. If you asked me to chose (life or death situation of course), I might choose the lemon because a tart lemon dessert will always steal my heart… but really, I wouldn’t say no to a plateful of either.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Lemon (or Blood Orange) Ricotta Cookies
Source: Giada 
Printable Recipe

2 1/2C flour
1tsp baking powder
1tsp salt
1/2C unsalted butter, room temperature
2C sugar
2 eggs
1 (15oz) container ricotta cheese
3T lemon (or blood orange) juice, fresh squeezed
zest of 1 lemon (or blood orange)

Glaze:
1 1/2C powdered sugar
3T fresh squeezed lemon juice (or blood orange)
zest of 1 lemon (or blood orange)

Preheat oven to 375. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.
Combine flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl. Mix and set aside.
In a different bowl, beat sugar and butter until fluffy. Add in eggs, 1 at a time. Add in ricotta, juice and zest. Beat to combine.
Stir in dry ingredients to wet ingredients.
Spoon 2T of mixture (I used a cookie scoop) onto baking sheet leaving about 2 inches between cookies. Bake for 14 minutes, until slightly golden at edges. Remove from oven and allow to cool for 10 minutes on baking sheet.
To make glaze: combine powdered sugar, juice, and zest. Stir until smooth. Spoon a small amount onto each cookie. Allow to set for about 2hours – at that point glaze will be hard enough to store (or serve!).

One thought on “Citrus Ricotta Cookies: 2 Ways

Leave a Reply

