S is for Super Bowl and Sedona and Snacks

S is for Sedona and Super Bowl Snacks. I shouldn’t be capitalizing as much as I am, but I’m just really excited about both of these things.

Although I’ve been home for over 5 days, I’m still missing Arizona… and fun adventures with my mom… and delicious food… and breathtaking scenery… and mini bottles of free hotel shampoo. I thought going away for a few days would be a good thing for my soul, but it seems as though it has simply left me longing for more travel. Life is rough.

Sedona, which my mom and I continually/accidentally referred to as ‘Sonoma,’ was a total I-cant-believe-this-is-real-life kinda beautiful. In fact it was so incredibly beautiful I ran out of space on my memory card  and my mom’s camera ran out of batteries – click! click! click! click! click! We couldn’t stop taking pictures. And now I can’t stop looking at all those pictures.

picstitch

I’ll stop with the Arizona trip recaps (that might be a lie), and I’ll mention some food. The Super Bowl is good for snacking and this recipe fits the bill. It’s got cheese and tortillas and beans and beer and goes oh-so-well with toppings like sour cream, salsa, and green onions. If that doesn’t say Super Bowl food, I don’t know what does.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Tortilla and Black Bean Pie
Source: Martha Stewart
Printable Recipe

4 whole wheat tortillas (10 or 9″ size)*
2T oil
1 onion, diced
1 jalapeño, seeds/ribs removed and minced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2tsp cumin
1tsp chili powder
salt, pepper
2 (15oz) cans black beans, drained and rinsed
12oz beer
1 (10oz) package frozen corn, thawed
4 green onions, thinly sliced
8 oz cheddar cheese, shredded
Optional garnishes: cilantro, lime wedges, extra green onions, salsa, sour cream, etc

Preheat oven to 400.
Trim tortillas to fit into a 9″ springform pan. I used a 9″ pie pan, which made removing the pie difficult, but it did work. Line the bottom of the pan with parchment paper. Set aside.
In a large skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Add onion, jalapeño, and cook for 5-7 minutes, until softened. Season with salt and pepper.  Add in garlic, cook for additional minute or two, until garlic is fragrant.  Stir in cumin and chili powder.
Add beer and beans. Bring mixture to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Cook for about 10 minutes, until liquid is nearly evaporated. You will need to stir the mixture occasionally.
Once liquid is nearly evaporated, remove from heat. Stir in corn and green onions.  Give the mixture a taste and adjust seasonings.
Allow mixture to cool slightly.
Place a trimmed tortilla into the bottom of the lined springform or pie pan. Add 1/4 of the bean mixture. Top with 1/2C of cheese.  Repeat with remaining 3 tortillas.
Bake at 400 for 20 minutes, until cheese is melted and tortillas are slightly crispy.
Garnish with green onions. Cut into wedges and serve with favorite toppings.

*Original recipe calls for flour tortillas

Leave a Reply

