Warm Weather and Boringless Oatmeal

DSC_3050

We got a little taste of spring this past weekend. It hit 37 degrees and I haven’t felt warmth like that in months. Heat wave! I threw on my hot pants and went outside. (PS Truthfully no hot pants were actually involved in the story, but I’m trying to emphasize my point).

The snowman that recently moved in 2 streets down shriveled into a mess, a real hot mess. The sun was shining, the snow was melting, and everyone (and I mean everyone!) was outside. If I had a convertible, I would have thrown the top down and drove around town. It was just that warm.

Sadly, the sun went down and the cold, frigid winter wind returned. It’s once again freezing, snowing, and blowing. I think Winnie the Pooh would perhaps call this ‘blustery,’ but don’t quote me on that. I’ve actually never asked him.

I feel a little silly blogging about oatmeal because it is, after all, just oatmeal. When I think of the most plain and bland foods, certainly oatmeal comes to mind. Every so often, I glamorize my oatmeal just enough to make it worth blogging about…

and…

well..

this…

this is blog-worthy oatmeal.

 

FotoFlexer_Photo

Cinnamon Coconut & Date Oatmeal 
Source: The Kitchn
Printable Recipe

1C lite coconut milk (or replace with water)
3C water
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1tsp vanilla extract
1/4tsp salt
1/4C unsweetened coconut flakes
5 medjool dates, pitted and chopped into large pieces
1C steel cut oats
topping suggestions: toasted coconut flakes, chopped walnuts, coconut milk, butter (or Earth Balance)

In a pot, combine coconut milk, water, cinnamon, vanilla, salt, coconut, and dates over medium heat. Bring to a simmer, stirring occasionally.
Add in oats. Cook, stirring occasionally, over medium-low heat for 30 minutes, until oats are cooked and liquid is nearly evaporated.
Remove from heat. Taste and adjust seasonings if necessary.
Serve with toppings of your choice. Store leftovers in the fridge (hello, quick breakfast tomorrow).
Note: This is not an overly sweet oatmeal. You may need to add an additional few dates or a sprinkle of sugar (or agave!)  if you are looking for a sweeter oatmeal. If you are looking to make it healthier, you can cut out the coconut milk and just use water.

Leave a Reply

