Spinach Veggie Dip and Promises of 2014

The new year always brings lots of new promises. I get jazzed by New Years resolutions and ‘newness’ in general. Yeah, I’m gonna floss my teeth 13 times a day, and workout at least every day, and eat so much healthier and never snack between meals, and always remove my mascara before going to bed to avoid “The Joker” look I inevitably wake up with, and read books more often (and make them classic novels and not trashy romance books!),  and make sure to call my grandparents once a week to tell them how much I love them, and write more handwritten notes because I want the post office to be more profitable and everyone loves a handwritten note even when its in my unreadable writing, and I’m gonna compliment a stranger once a week, and pay for a strangers coffee once in a blue moon  because free coffee is the best coffee, and I should dance around my apartment instead of being sad on bad days because moping isn’t worth my time, and do more ab workouts because my abs are so sad and weak, and totally buy a yellow-polka-dot bikini this summer so I can sing that song and mean it, and take a vitamin every day instead of once per month because I think it will have more of an effect, and make my bed everyday because my room looks cleaner when my comforter is in place, and definitely call that one long-lost friend that I’ve been meaning to reach out to,and certainly I will …. you know you said a lot of that stuff to yourself at midnight a few days ago too. Admittedly, I’ve already dropped off on a few of my grandiose plans. I’m more of a dreamer than an achiever.

As much as I love new years, new beginnings, and new, I’m also aware that somethings aren’t going to make my ‘I must do this’ list. (When you started reading this, did you think I was going to be all deep and philosophical? I didn’t either.)

Without further ado, I present to you my list of things you won’t see on the blog (cooking version):

1. Coffee pot cooking — I’m still confused by this concept and I don’t see myself trying it anytime soon. I like to make coffee in my crockpot. Not salmon. Coffee not salmon.

sdfsd_custom-c0c2c281e58962db36b85f299975f1b7aa4e17c5-s40-c85
http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2013/11/15/245442083/coffee-maker-cooking-brew-up-your-next-dinner

2 . I don’t use my dishwasher to wash dishes. I also don’t use my dishwasher to make food. I’m weird like that. Also, what is with people trying to make salmon in all of these weird ways. Salmon is very easy to make – and it lends itself to cooking on a grill, skillet, or oven. Let’s not overcomplicate it, people.

food-safety-issues
http://www.themedifastplan.com/main/dishwasher-cooking-fad-raises-concerns-about-food-safety/

3. And last, but not least, I don’t think you will see me whipping out any car cooking methods. I’ll drive through a McDonalds long before I’m tossing foil packets to roast on my engine. I just imagine this one going bad for me and somehow ending up with a bad burn either on my hand or my food.

car-cooking
http://www.wisebread.com/cooking-great-meals-with-your-car-engine-the-heat-is-on

And now for the things you will see on the blog, specifically this veggie dip. It started as me eating about 1 lb of a yogurt based veggie dip my mom had purchased at Costco. I don’t have a Costco membership and I can’t find it at my grocery store; therefore, I was forced to make it all by myself. Life is so hard.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Spinach Veggie Dip
Source: UmUms Defined
Printable Recipe

2T olive oil
1 small shallot, minced
1 carrot, peeled and chopped finely
2 cloves garlic,  minced
6oz baby spinach
4 green onions, white and light green parts only, chopped
1 small (5oz) can water chestnuts, strained and chopped
1 (17.6oz) container of plain greek yogurt (recommend: Fage 0%)
salt (1tsp + more to taste)

In a pot or large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add shallot, carrot, and garlic. Heat until garlic is fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add in baby spinach. Heat through, stirring frequently, until spinach is wilted. This should only take a few minutes (like 2!). Remove from heat and transfer to a bowl, allowing to cool completely.
Once mixture is cooled, add to a food processor. Pulse a few times until ingredients are incorporated and chopped – you don’t want mush. Add in green onions, water chestnuts, and greek yogurt. Pulse 3 or 4 more times until just combined.
Remove from processor. Season with salt and pepper. Stir until ingredients are well incorporated. Taste and adjust seasonings.
Serve with veggies or pita chips! Store leftovers in the refrigerator. It doesn’t keep very long.

Leave a Reply

