Soup, Impressive Runners, and Snow. Also, My Biceps Hurt.

I’m snowed in today and it is wonderful. I feel like going outside and slipping/sliding on a walk through my neighborhood while the snow is still white and fluffy. I might just do that after I finish typing because I’m sure the snow will be black and utterly disgusting in a few short hours.

I tried my first pump class one week ago and today I finally feel normal again. And by normal, I mean I can lift my arms above my head without crying and stand up from a seated position without groaning like an arthritic, old man. I know I’m behind on this one as I just did a little research on wikipedia and it turns out that body pump has been around since the early 1990s. I’m glad it took me 20+ years to find it. I would continue to complain about how wonderfully achy I feel, but I just read another article about a couple who ran 365 marathons in 2013. For those who aren’t good at math, that’s a marathon every day. 26.2 miles every day? I can’t even begin to say how impressed I am. Did I mention they are in their 60s? It’s okay to cry a little.  My self-esteem plummeted after reading that too.

For those who aren’t planning on running a marathon every day this year (and/or can’t fathom running a marathon every day this year), perhaps we can eat a little healthier? I mean I think that counts for something. Soup is healthy, especially when it is full of veggies and devoid of dairy. But don’t let the lack of cheese and cream deter you, this recipe is a keeper.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Tuscan Farro Soup with White Beans, Tomatoes, and Basil
Source: Williams-Sonoma
Printable Recipe

1/2C farro, cooked according to package directions
3T olive oil
1 large onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
1T Italian seasoning
4C vegetable broth
1 (15oz) can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
1 (14.5oz) can diced tomatoes
2C baby spinach
1/2C chopped fresh basil
salt, pepper

Cook farro according to package directions. Set aside.
In a large pot, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add onion and cook until translucent, about 5 minutes. Once cooked, add garlic. Cook until fragrant, about 1 minute.
Add 1T of Italian seasoning. Stir to combine. Add in broth, tomatoes, beans, and farro.
Bring to a simmer and cook for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
Add in spinach and basil. Stir and take off heat. You just want spinach to wilt (which happens immediately).
Taste and adjust seasonings.
Serve.

Leave a Reply

