That Time We Thought We Knew How to Ski

I hope you all are having a wonderful start to 2014.

2014?!??!?!? I still can’t believe we are here already. I’m starting my new year off right by sitting, eating leftover holiday treats and thinking about showering… none of these things were technically on my list of resolutions but there is always next year. Right?

Let’s recap how I spent my final days of 2013: eating, visiting family, laughing, cooking (a lot), reading, and not working. I hope this explains my lack of blog posts this past week.

Oh, and this happened:

That time I thought I was good at skiing.

004

That time I learned I wasn’t.

016

That time I learned why I’m so good at skiing. It’s genetic.

photo

That time I learned that you can simply call this ‘taking a break’ and it seems a lot less embarrassing. My brother is so smart. He gets straight A’s in school.

photo 3

Learning is fun, but painful. Skiing, even the mostly flat, cross-country kind uses muscles I didn’t know I even had. Ouch. Ouch. Ouch.

And now for an unrelated recipe that is less painful and more delicious:

FotoFlexer_Photo

All-American Meatless Sloppy Joes
Source:  Crockpot Vegetarian Recipes
Printable Recipe

1 large onion, sliced
1 large green bell pepper, chopped (~2C)
2(15oz) kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 (14oz) can tomato sauce
4T ketchup
2T yellow mustard
4 cloves garlic, minced
salt, pepper
1T chili powder
2T cider vinegar
rolls for serving

Option 1: combine all ingredients (except vinegar and rolls) in crockpot. Cook on low for 5 hours, until veggies are tender. Mash mixture a few times using potato masher – I like mine with a lot of whole beans.  Stir in vinegar. Adjust salt and pepper if needed. Serve on toasted rolls.

Option 2: In a large skillet, saute onions and pepper until tender in 2T of olive oil over medium heat, about 5 minutes. Add in garlic. Cook until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add in tomato sauce, ketchup, mustard, chili powder, vinegar, salt, and pepper. Simmer for 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Taste and adjust seasonings. Remove from heat and serve.

Leave a Reply

