Molasses Week Part 2

In keeping with my theme of ‘all-things molasses,’ I bring to you my second molasses containing recipe of the week. My third recipe tasted like dirt, sadness, and disaster so I will not be posting it here. Unless you’re interested in terrible recipes? Let me know.

I was originally planning on writing an entire post about how awesome I am and how I totally went to the gym today and ran umpteen miles on an impressive incline all the while keeping a brisk pace. However, my legs were like lead this AM and  I barely made it out of bed. I somehow managed to tie my hair in a knot on my head, run some errands, and show my face at the gym for what we will refer to as the worst workout of the week/possibly month. It was nothing to write home about.

Dear Mom, 
It was raining today. My legs were tired and didn’t want to move. My workout was an embarrassment to our family name. 
Love, 
Andrea

See? Nothing to write home about. It’s not like I didn’t tell you that.

Gingerbread muffins seem like an appropriate Christmas time treat. I tried to veganize the original recipe, which truthfully resulted in a bit of a dry muffin. As luck would have it, these got better on Day 2. Make these today and eat them tomorrow. Mmmmmolasses.

FotoFlexer_Photo4

Gingerbread Muffins (Vegan)
Source: Food.Com
Printable Recipe

1C whole wheat flour
1C all-purpose flour
2tsp baking powder
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup applesauce (alternate: 1/2C almond or soy milk)
1/4 cup apple juice
1/4 cup molasses
1 flax egg (1T ground flax + 3T warm water)
3 tablespoons canola oil

Preheat oven to 350. Line muffin tin with paper liners.
In a bowl, combine flours, baking powder, salt, ginger, cinnamon, and cloves. Stir and set aside.
In a different bowl, combine sugar, applesauce, apple juice, molasses, flax egg, and oil. Add wet ingredients and dry ingredients, stirring until just incorporated. Batter can (and should) be lumpy. You may need to add an additional 1-2T of oil if your batter seems to dry/thick.
Divide batter among  12 muffin tins.
Bake at 350 for 20-22 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.
Remove from muffin tins and allow to cool.

Leave a Reply

