Molasses Week and My Bro is 16!

DSC_2879

It’s officially molasses week at my house because (no joke) I’ve literally put molasses in just about everything I have made in the past 24 hours. For someone who uses molasses like once every year, it feels a little strange to have run out of molasses. Who runs out of molasses? What if my neighbor comes over to borrow a cup of molasses? Who puts molasses on their grocery list more than once in a month… or even in a year? (Hint: Me!)

In honor of molasses week, I figured I would take today very slow or at least that’s what I’m telling myself. I slept in. I haven’t worked out (yet). I haven’t combed my hair (yet). I did brush my teeth (barely). I’m calling my new lifestyle ‘molasses living’ and it’s all about taking things real slow, slow like molasses. I would say we should ‘stop and smell the roses,’ but the snowy weather has me thinking that’s not gonna happen.

So join me in celebrating molasses week by putting your feet up on the coffee table, burning your overpriced holiday scented candles, reading a book or two, and pouring some of that sweet blacksrap into everything that comes out of your kitchen. Mmmmolasses.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Chewy Molasses-Spice Cookies
Source: Martha Stewart
Printable Recipe

2C all-pupose flour
1 1/2tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2tsp nutmeg
1/2tsp salt
1C sugar
3/4C butter, room temperature
1 egg
1/4C molasses
1/2C sugar (for dusting)

Preheat oven to 350. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.
In a bowl, combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt. Stir to combine and set aside.
In a different bowl, beat 1C sugar and butter until fluffy. Add in egg and molasses. Beat until combined.
Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and beat until dough forms.
Roll dough into balls (each about 1T worth of dough). Toss in reserved sugar until coated and place on baking sheet. Leave about 3 inches between cookies because they spread.
Bake at 350 for 10 minutes. Remove from oven. Allow to cool on baking sheet for 1-2 minutes. Transfer to wire rack to completely cool.
Enjoy!

PS Happy Birthday to my brother Ty! How on earth are you 16 today??

 

Leave a Reply

