Barney is Purple in my Opinion

The internet is a dangerous thing I tell you.

The story goes something like this:  Last night as I was driving home from work, I was listening to a podcast. Nerd alert! I know.

Anyways, they mentioned the word purple and being as I was beyond tired and half asleep after a looooooong day at work, I started thinking about purple. Weird alert! I know.

I guess you had to be there? Purple made me think of Barney because he is, well, you know, purple. (At this point you are probably really weirded out, but again, you had to be there… or maybe you just have to be me). Whenever (and it’s not that frequently so don’t be disturbed) I think of Barney, I think of Tina and Lucy. Remember those two? The adorable sisters who used to sing songs together about being sisters and loving each other and doing crafts. In case you didn’t know, I was there unofficial third sister and I would sing along with them pretending we were all sisters. The 90s were a rough (and sister-less) time for me.

This had me thinking even more. (If you learn anything from this story, it should be that I shouldn’t think and drive). Whatever happened to those two? Are they still acting? Are they even sisters? As it turns out, I’m not the only one pondering these questions in 2013 and a quick google search had me stalking learning about them. I’ll save you the hassle. They’ve done well for themselves, but are both out of show business at this point. And much to my dismay, they are not sisters. Insert sad face.

Back to the food.

And no, it’s not purple.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Vanilla Bean Caramels
Source:  Confections of  a Foodie Bride via Annie’s Eats
Printable Recipe

1 1/2C sugar
1/4C light corn syrup
1/4C water
1C heavy cream
5T butter
1/2tsp vanilla
1 vanilla bean pod  (split and scarped)
1tsp salt
fleur de sel (optional for topping)

Line 8×8 with parchment paper.
In a microwave safe bowl or saucepan, combine cream, butter, vanilla, vanilla seeds, and salt. Heat until mixture begins to simmer and butter is melted. Set aside.
In a saucepan, combine sugar, corn syrup, and water.  Place pan on medium-heat. Allow sugar to dissolve, swirling occasionally. (Don’t stir). Bring mixture to a boil and allow to cook until mixture turns a golden caramel color. This will take a few minutes, but be patient because you want a nice brown (amber) color.
Once you have achieved the right color, slowly pour in the cream mixture while stirring constantly. (Caution: mixture will bubble)
Quickly clip your candy thermometer to the side of the pan and heat mixture (while stirring) to 248F. Once it reaches 248, remove from heat and pour into 8×8 that was lined with parchment.
Allow to cool. Using sharp knife, cut into small pieces.
Wrap in individual pieces of parchment paper if desired. Serve!

Leave a Reply

