On Being a Tactile Shopper

Anybody else a bit of a tactile shopper? I know you can’t tell but I’m raising my hand right now because I’m the worst. I’m the kind of gal who runs into a store and can’t help but touch everything. And I mean everything. It’s weird, but I know I’m not the only one out there with this problem. My friend and I just spent our Saturday walking around petting different items at Target. It happens.

Side note: Don’t ever let me set foot into a fine china store. Bad things are bound to happen.

I had a near crisis the other day in Macy’s. We were in the bedding department for reasons I can’t explain. I’m pretty sure neither myself nor my shopping pal were actually planning on purchasing any overpriced duvets or shams. If there is one place (aside from a glass sculpture shop), you should never bring a tactile shopper, it would certainly be the bedding section. Tactile shoppers are out of control in the bedding department… I mean have you ever felt the difference between a 250 thread count bedspread and a 500 thread count? Night and day, I tell you. And don’t even get me started on all those furry, fuzzy, and fluffy throws. Divine. Anyways, I saw a child sized manikan lying on an ultra-soft looking king sized bed. Just as I reached down to touch the bedding (and eventually the manikin), the manikin moved. Lifelike looking manikin was indeed a real human. Oh gosh. That was close. Too close.

I’d love to tell you that I learned from this near mishap, but that’s not the truth. I’m headed to the shoe store right now to look for new boots… and you know I got to touch the outside of every shoe available in order to figure out which one will fit just right.

It’s been a cold couple of days, which means I’m spending most of my time wrapped in a blanket, 16 sweatshirts, a scarf, 3 pairs of socks and ear muffs. Did I ever mention my apartment is cold? It is. Another way to fight the cold weather? Soup. Obv.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Cauliflower Soup
Source: Taste of Home
Printable Recipe

1 head cauliflower, chopped into florets
2 medium carrots, shredded
2 medium stalks celery, chopped
3C vegetable broth
2T butter
2T flour
1 1/2C milk (I used skim – any kind will work)
salt, pepper
1C sharp cheddar cheese, grated

Combine cauliflower, carrot, celery, and broth in a large pot. Bring to a boil and reduce to simmer. Cook for about 15 minutes, until veggies are tender.
While veggies are coking, heat a different small pot over medium heat. Melt butter and add flour, whisking constantly. Gradually add milk while stirring. Cook for a few minutes, stirring until sauce begins to thicken. Add in salt and pepper.  Reduce the heat and stir in the cheese. Stir until melted.
Pour milk mixture into cooked veggie mixture. Stir to combine. Taste and adjust seasonings.
Serve!

Leave a Reply

