How Is It Thanksgiving Already?

Someday I’ll tell you that I went to yoga and I nailed it. I’ll tell you how I was acing every move, holding every pose, inhaling when I was supposed to be inhaling, exhaling when I was supposed to be exhaling, and not even breaking a sweat. Exactly how many years away we are from that post, I do not know.

At first, I wasn’t into it, but the more I go, the more I think I kinda dig it. I’ll never be a daily yogi, and I much prefer the cardio-yoga class to the yoga-yoga class, but I’m doing it and I think that counts.

Thanksgiving is tomorrow. Yours truly will be working hard for her money while you’re busy pouring excess gravy on your 3rd plate of mashed potatoes while simultaneously wondering if you have left enough room to try all 3 available flavors of pie. Don’t worry. You will have room. There is always room.

Thanksgiving is about being thankful so I guess I will be thankful I have a job, a job I love way more than I hate. Win. Win.

Thanksgiving is about being thankful and I am thankful for the ability to exercise. Yoga, cycling, running, walking, gym-ing, etc are blessings I hate-love. It’s kind of like a sister that you pretend to not like, but deep down you really love her. You even steal her clothes sometimes.

Thanksgiving is about being thankful so it would be wrong not to mention those I am most thankful for: my mother, my father, my brother, my other brother, and my other brother. And the dog. He counts too.

Thanksgiving is about being thankful so it would be crazy not to mention how thankful I am for all my friends, especially the friends who are family. You don’t need a mutual last name or the same parents to call someone family.

Before I get too sappy, we better be done being thankful. My list goes on an on, much like a terribly long and poorly worded novel. I have a lot of good in my life.

Now, go and finish your cranberry sauce. Then, you can move on to dessertsssssssss(s).

FotoFlexer_Photo

Sweet & Savory Root Vegetable Stuffing
Source: Giada DeLaurentis 
Printable Recipe

5T butter
3T olive oil
4 carrots, peeled and cut into 1/2″ pieces
3 parsnips,  peeled and cut into 1/2″ pieces
2 leeks, white and pale green parts sliced thinly
1lb butternut squash, halved/peeled/seeded and cut into 1/2″ cubes
1tsp salt
1/2tsp pepper
2T fresh chopped thyme leaves
1tsp ground allspice
1 large Granny Smith apple, unpeeled, cored, and cut into 1/2″ cubes
zest of 1 lemon
8 oz sourdough bread, cut into 1/2″ cubes
3 eggs, beaten
1/3C dried cranberries
1/4C frozen apple juice concentrate, thawed
3/4C vegetable stock

Preheat oven to 375. Lightly butter a 9×13 glass baking dish. Set dish aside.
Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Melt 2T butter and 2T olive oil. Add chopped veggies (carrots, parsnips, leeks, squash). Season with salt and pepper.
Cook veggies for about 15 minutes, until they begin to soften. You will need to stir them occasionally as they cook.
Add in additional 1T olive oil, thyme, allspice, apples, and lemon zest. Cook for 5 minutes and remove from heat. This mixture will need to cool slightly before proceeding with next step.
In a large bowl, whisk eggs and apple juice concentrate. Toss in cubed bread. Add in cranberries. Stir in the semi-cooled veggie mixture. Toss until all are combined.
Place mixture in prepped baking dish. Cover with foil (recommend spraying foil with no stick spray or buttering to avoid the sticking).
Bake at 375 for 40 minutes. Uncover and cook for additional 20 minutes, until lightly browned and done (crispy enough?) to your liking.

Leave a Reply

