Baby, It’s Cold Outside

It’s flurrying outside, which means I’m cold, even when I’m inside. Cold weather calls for soup and everybody in the Midwest has a handful of go-to soup recipes for days when the temperature dips below the freezing point. Brrrrrrrr.

I like a good flurry (and a blizzard every now and then). This weather makes me want to cozy up with a book, a blanket, and a cup of tea. It reminds me how thankful I am that warm days exist and summer will eventually return. And, I know it’s too early to say this officially, but it makes me excited for the holidays. Fa La La Laaaa….

I have a bunch of favorite soup recipes that I make on a regular basis, but I love trying new ones too. Variety is the spice of life, and I like spice.

Did you say soft, pillowy dumplings?

Did you say veggie-filled broth with soft, pillowy dumplings?

Did you say veggie-filled broth with soft, pillowy dumplings and chickpeas?

Ummm, yeah I did.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Chickpea and Dumpling Soup
Source: The Chew
Printable Recipe

For the Dumplings*:
3/4C flour
1/4C yellow cornmeal
1/2T baking powder (heaping)
1/2tsp salt
3/4C half&half
1T fresh parsley, chopped

For the soup:
2T olive oil
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 carrots, chopped
2 stalks celery, chopped
3 springs fresh thyme leaves, minced
3T fresh parsley, minced
1 bay leaf
2 quarts vegetable broth (low sodium if able to find)
1/4C apple cider
1 (15oz) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

For the soup:
Heat olive oil over medium heat in large soup pot. Add onion and sauté until translucent, about 3 minutes. Add garlic, carrots, and celery. Cook until they start to soften, about 4 minutes. Add thyme, parsley, and bay leaf. Stir to combine. Sprinkle in salt and a pinch of pepper.
Add apple cider to pan. Cook for 1 minute, stirring occasionally.
Add vegetable broth.
Bring broth to a simmer, about 10 minutes. Add in chickpeas.
Cook for about 10-15 minutes longer, until veggies are tender and soup is simmering. Taste and adjust seasonings.
To simmering pot, drop heaping tablespoons of dumpling mixture (see recipe below). I used a cookie scoop. Once all dough is in pot, sprinkle in additional 2T of minced parsley. Cover pot and allow to cook for 12 minutes.
Remove from heat and serve.

For the dumplings:
Sift together flour, cornmeal, baking soda, and salt.
Add in half&half. Stir until just combined – do not over stir.
Set aside until soup is ready for dumpling mixture to be added.

* I halved the original recipe because I thought I had too many dumplings/batter. Double it if you want more dumplings.

Leave a Reply

