Dreadmill

How did you guys not tell me that Vanilla Ice has a show on HGTV? Nothing like 30 minutes of Vanilla Ice and a group of Amish men working together on  a kitchen renovation to keep a girl motivated on the treadmill (aka dreadmill). It’s these kind of things that keep me going back to the gym time after time.

Speaking of the gym, let’s talk about how much we dislike its existence. Don’t get me wrong – I love a good workout. The problem, you see, lies in the location. I like being outside when I sweat. Fresh air, picturesque scenery, and the occasional near collision with a fellow jogger and/or vehicle are among the reasons I prefer not to be confined by walls when burning calories. Also, I don’t care for all the mirrors at gyms. It feels strange to stare at myself, but even more strange to not stare with all the mirrors. Inadvertently and inevitably, I’m left fixing my hair instead of pumping iron. I hate to be that girl, but it just happens. If you give a girl a mirror…

As the temperature plunges downward, I am left spend more and more time with gym; however, with surprises like HGTV’s “Vanilla Ice Goes Amish,” I think the Winter gym routine will be survivable. Besides, I’ve been wanting to try out a few new hairstyles.

FotoFlexer_Photo

 

I’m all about sides at Thanksgiving and I think this would be a nice non-traditional addition to your plate. I loved it, but I happen to think fennel is one of the most amazing vegetables on the planet. I’d even make an argument that it’s hearty enough to be served as a main dish for your veggie-loving friends.

Braised Fennel and White Beans
Source: Martha Stewart
Printable Recipe

2T olive oil
2 fennel bulbs, trimmed, halved, and cut into 1/4″ slices (~3C total)
1 medium red onion, cut into 1/4″ thick slices
1 clove garlic, minced
1 (15oz) can white beans (I used cannellini), drained and rinsed
1C vegetable broth
2tsp chopped fresh oregano + more for garnish
2T red wine vinegar
1T butter (optional)

In a large saute pan, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add fennel and onion. Cook until tender, about 10 minutes.
Add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute.
Add beans, broth, salt and pepper. Stirring occasionally, cook for 3-4 minutes. Broth should be reduced by about 1/2 by this point.
Stir in vinegar and optional butter. Remove from heat. Garnish with whole oregano leaves and serve.

Leave a Reply

