Chapter 12: Not Bankruptcy

DSC_0122

Now is the part of the story where I mention I’m from Wisconsin. I guess I could fight the stereotypes of being a Wisconsonite or I could simply embrace them.

Embrace them I will.

I love cheese. It’s cliche and I know it. But believe it or not, I have friends from Illinois, California and New York… and they like cheese too. Can you believe it?

But, I really like cheese. I like it so much I wear it on my head on sundays in the fall. Go Pack Go!

I don’t live on a farm… or hunt deer in my free time… or wear flannel…

but I like the occasional snowstorm, I know where ‘flatlanders’ are from, I drink water from bubblers when I’m thirsty, and I do love cheese.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Poblano Queso
Source: Confections of a Foodie Bride
Printable Recipe

1T olive oil
1/4C onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 poblano pepper, roasted with skin and seeds removed
4-6T milk
8oz white American cheese, shredded
2oz Monterrey Jack cheese, shredded
salt, pepper

In a small sauce pan, heat oil over medium heat.
Add onion. Saute until translucent, 3-4 minutes.
Add garlic and chopped chiles. Cook until fragrant, about 1 minute.
Add 4T of milk. Reduce heat — don’t scald the milk.
Once milk is heated, add cheese one handful at a time. Stir between additions.
Add additional milk if necessary.
Once cheese is melted, remove from heat. Add salt and pepper to taste. Serve.
Note: reheats well in microwave.

Leave a Reply

