Apples in my Salad

The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.

In this case, it fell off the tree and into my salad.

DSC_0045

Good intro, right?  I’m so darn creative.

People, it’s apple season! I love, love, love, love apples! Remember the days when I thought red delicious apples were actually delicious apples? Ha! I’m embarrassed about those days of my life. I’m also a little embarrassed about my previous use of oversized scrunchies and sweaters with dogs on them, but we all had that phase, correct? I’m currently a self-professed apple snob, loving certain types of apples for certain occasions and certain recipes. Red delicious (in my non-professional, humble opinion) are misnamed. They are far from delicious.

A is for Apple. B is for Braeburn. C is for Cortland. E is for Empire. F is for Fuji. G is for Gala and Golden Delicious and Granny Smith. H is for Honeycrisp. J is for Jazz or Jonathan. M is for McIntosh…. I could keep going and going.

I want to run through an apple orchard gobbling tasty apples straight from the tree (pesticides and all) and make every apple recipe I can find, but that’s not a realistic goal for today. Instead, I’ll run to my grocery store, ‘pluck’ a few apples from the sale bin, wash them, and eat them in my salad.

APPPPLLLLEEE SEAAASSSSOOONNN IIIIISSSSS HHHHEEEEERRREEEEE!!!!

FotoFlexer_Photo

Apple, Pear, Feta, Quinoa, and Pecan Salad with Balsamic Dressing
Source: Adapted from Tasty Kitchen
Printable Recipe

For the salad:
1 apple (recommend: honey crisp), chopped
1 pear (recommend: bartlett), chopped
6 oz mixed baby greens (or salad blend of choice)
1/4C chopped pecans
1/4C cooked quinoa
2 oz feta, crumbled

For the dressing:
1/4C finely chopped red onion
3T red wine vinegar
3T balsamic vinegar
1/2C olive oil
2T sugar
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4tsp salt
1/4tsp pepper

Toss greens with apple, bear, pecans, cooked quinoa, and feta.
Whisk dressing ingredients in a small bowl until combined. Taste and adjust seasonings.
Top salad with dressing. (Note: you won’t need all of the dressing!)

Leave a Reply

