Fall Baked Farro

While many of you have probably spent the last few weeks worrying about the mental state of Miley Cyrus, I have been at twerk. I meant work. I like my job, but it lacks windows. And by lacks, I mean contains absolutely no windows. As in not 1. As in 0. This means I have absolutely no concept of the outside temperature or weather patterns or time of day (if I don’t look at a clock). You can imagine my surprise the other night when I finished up work, walked outside, and got slapped in the face by the sudden onset of fall.

Fall! Fall! Fall!

I love fall. I would say it’s my favorite season, but in all honesty, I say that about every season.

The leaves, the smells, the Halloweens, the pumpkin spiced lattes, the colors, the football, the…

Another reason to love fall? The ability to crank on the oven and make some warm, comfort food. This dish seems like the perfect sorta-summer-still-but-kinda-fall dish to me because its warm and hearty without being too much of a perfect-for-a-cold-winters-night dish. Does that make sense?

I didn’t think so.

Fall! Farro! Farro for Fall! Fall for Farro! Make this tonight. We will worry about Miley and Wrecking Balls and such tomorrow.

I’ve got to get back twerk to work.

Ciao!

FotoFlexer_Photo

Baked Farro Risotto 
Source: 101 Cookbooks
Printable Recipe

2T olive oil
zest of 1 lemon
1 small onion, diced
salt
1 1/2C uncooked farro
1C tomato sauce*
2 1/2C vegetable broth
1C parmesan
1T fresh oregano

Preheat oven to 400.
Prep an 8×8 oven-safe dish by rubbing it with a teaspoon of olive oil and sprinkling lemon zest. This recipe is good with or without the lemon zest.
Heat sauce pan over medium heat. Ad olive oil and onion. Cook until translucent, about 3 minutes.
Add a sprinkle of salt.
Add in farro and cook for another minute, stirring well.
Add in tomato sauce and broth.
Stir and bring mixture to a simmer.
Remove from heat. Add in 3/4C of cheese. Taste and adjust seasonings.
Transfer mixture to baking dish. Be careful!
Cover with foil. Bake for 45 minutes, or until farro is cooked.
Sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake uncovered for a few minutes, until top is browned. You may want to throw it under the broiler to achieve desired color.
Top with oregano and serve.

*The first time I made it, I used the original author’s suggestion to make sauce — sauté 1 clove garlic in olive oil and a pinch of red pepper flakes until fragrant.  Add 1 can crushed tomatoes. Simmer for a few minutes. Taste and add salt if needed. I also added a pinch of dried basil.  Alternately, you can use a cup of your favorite tomato sauce.

Leave a Reply

