Carb- Ohhhhh- Hydrates and Such

S is for stressed. That’s my current mood.  If I was to portray it in a emoticon it would look like this:  :O

or :I

or even 😦

Work is stressful sometimes. Sometimes was last night.  Good thing last night isn’t always. I’d like to go on and on and on and on and on… and complain and complain… and moan and moan and moan. But life is too short to spend all my time typing about work drama. Besides, I just walked/ran/skipped/jumped until I couldn’t sweat anymore and my problems seem less problematic. Exercising is the cheapest of therapies.  Truth.

What is worth my time? Food. Food is worth my time and my money and my calories.

S is for stressed. R is for remedy. The remedy for stress starts with a ‘C’ and ends with a ‘arbohydrates.’

Stressed out moods require carbs. It’s a scientific fact.*

Reduce your stress. Eat carbs, y’all.

*Truthfully, no facts were checked when the above scientific claims were typed. My gut tells me the Surgeon General probably isn’t on board with my science. My gut also tells me the Surgeon General would think these carbohydrates do indeed taste delicious. (I’m also wondering who the current Surgeon General is? And can I abbreviate it to SG? Is that cool, SG?) In keeping with the theme of science, I hypothesize both you and the Surgeon General can, will, and should make these delicious flatbreads. Let me know about the results and conclusion.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Moroccan Flatbread 
Source: CookingLight Cookbook
Printable Recipe

1/2tsp dry active yeast
3/4C warm water (~110 degrees)
pinch of sugar (literally a pinch)
9oz all-purpose flour (~2C)
3/4tsp salt
1 large onion, chopped
1/3C fresh flat-leaf parsley, chopped fine
2T olive oil
2tsp paprika
1tsp cumin
1/2tsp salt
pinch of crushed red pepper
1tsp canola oil

In a bowl, combine yeast, warm water, and a pinch of sugar. Let sit for 5 minutes, until yeast is active (aka frothy/foamy in appearance).
Add flour and salt. Stir with a wooden spoon until incorporated.
Turn dough out onto floured surface. Knead for 3 minutes, adding in additional flour as needed to prevent sticking.
Shape into ball. Cover with a clean kitchen towel or (better yet) invert bowl over the dough. Allow to rest for 15-20 minutes.
Knead dough for additional 3 minutes, adding additional flour as needed.
Divide rested dough into 8 pieces. Shape each into a ball.
Spritz the top with cooking spray. Place on a baking sheet. Cover with plastic wrap.
Allow to rest for 30 minutes.
While the dough is resting, make the onion filling. Heat a tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat in a skillet pan. Once warm, add onion. Cook until translucent and tender, about 3-4 minutes. Remove from heat. Place cooked onion in a bowl. Add in parsley, paprika, cumin, salt, and red pepper. Stir to combine. Set aside, allowing the mixture to cool.
Flatten each dough into a round circle (~7inches). Place 2T of onion mixture into the center of dough.
To fold dough: Fold sides of dough over filling. Fold one side under the dough and the last side over the dough. You should have a square. Press down gently to seal. Set aside. Repeat with remaining dough.
In a pan heat 1/2tsp of canola oil over medium heat. Place dough into heated pan. Cook for 2 minutes, then turn and cook for additional two minutes. Bread should be crisp and golden.
Transfer to a serving platter. Serve.

Leave a Reply

