On Becoming a Reader

I decided to put away the remote and pick up a book. I’ll be the first to admit, I’m not much of a reader. I’ll read a cookbook cover to cover before setting my hand on a novel. Sure, I’ll pick up the occasional easy-read (aka Dr. Seuss book), but I’m ultra envious of people who devour books the way I devour chocolate.  Who are those people? My brother.

My brother. He is opinionated, tall, cuts his own hair, and wears skinny jeans. You can judge him. I do. Despite his flaws, I’ve long been intrigued, confused, and baffled by his love of reading. When I was in high school, he was oftentimes reading the books I was required to read… for fun… as a middle schooler. It was like my own personal cliff notes, except more annoying. Who reads classic novels as a 6th grader? My brother, that’s who.  Andrea, I think the point of this book is (insert some snarky comment about the thesis or theme but say it in the voice of a 12 year old brother). It should come as no surprise he is studying English/Reading/Literature type things in college. We saw that one coming.

I’m still confused by his actions. Just the other day, he told me he was reading some Mark Twain books because ‘Mark Twain was a pretty cool dude.’ At least, that’s what the text said. Can you believe this? Me neither.  Does he know Mark Twain? Doubtful. What exactly makes Mark Twain cool? My guess is that you can find the answer on wikipedia.

My brother isn’t the only reader I know. My mom, other brother, and other brother are all readers. All this talk of books, library cards, and late fines has always left me feeling left out.

No more. I’m starting a book club with only one member: myself.  That might be a bit of an exaggeration, but I’m trying to become more of a reader. It’s good for your brains and stuff. I may never pick up a bunch of Shakespeare or Jane Austin books just because… in fact, that will never happen.  I will never read another Jane Austin or Shakespeare book, but I’ll read a different book. In fact, I’m reading 4 books in the next 4 weeks … just because. It’s happening. Library fines here I come.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Zucchini Boats with Ricotta-Basil Mousse
Source: Cooking Light Way to Cook Vegetarian Cookbook
Printable Recipe

6 small zucchini
1C loosely packed fresh basil leaves, chopped finely
1C ricotta (light works fine)
1/2C loosely packed flat-lead parsley, chopped finely
1/4C grated parmesan cheese
2 cloves garlic, minced
1T fresh lemon juice
2T water
pinch of salt
1/4tsp pepper

Preheat oven to 450. Spray a 13×9 baking dish with no-stick spray.
To prep zucchini: Wash and dry. Cut in half length-wise. Scoop out center using a melon baller or a grapefruit spoon. Arrange in a single layer on prepped dish.
In a bowl, combine basil, ricotta, parsley, parmesan, garlic, lemon juice, water, salt, and pepper. Stir to combine. Taste and add more salt if desired.
Fill each zucchini boat with mixture. Press gently into shell. Do not overfill – the filling is rather rich, so I would say less is more.
Bake at 450 for 20-25 minutes, until zucchini is tender and top is lightly browned. I turned the broiler on the last minute so the top browned a bit.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

