That Time A Fly Photobombed My Sick Donut Photo

Ugh. Today was one of those days. I am a wannabe foodie, part-time wannabe blogger, and an amatuer-amatuer photographer. I’m reallllly trying though and I’m fairly sure I’ve read a quote on quotes.com that says something like ‘trying is good even if you fail.’ I’m paraphrasing, people.

What does all this ‘i’m no good at anything’ nonsense translate to? Failures, fiascos, fires, major flops and terrible tasting leftovers most of the time, but occasionally a fail so wonderful comes along that it needs to be shared. Like I said, today was one of those days.

I’ll start with the good news: I have a recipe to share and it’s positively delicious.

Now, I’ll show you the bad news.

At first, it was the ‘coconut whipped cream’ that had me frustrated. I accidentally bought ‘lite’ coconut milk, which resulted in a whipped cream that was far more cream than it was whipped. At first, I figured this wouldn’t be much of a problem. It tasted great, but was a little sloppy looking. Did I mention I’m an amateur camera user?

Insert photo #1:

DSC_2259

I’m just going to point out the 800lb gorilla in the room and mention that it looks like this donut is sick… as in sick to its stomach.  Puking donut.  There. I said it. I’m sure there is a rule book for food bloggers somewhere that specifically states that you shouldn’t mention gastrointestinal illness and food in the same sentence. Ever. I haven’t read that book yet. Clearly.

I used a not-so-fancy photo editing program to show you what I see (artistically speaking) when I look at the above photo.

FotoFlexer_Photo

I have about 60 variations of the above shot (sans eyeballs), each better (or should I say worse?) than the next. I added sugar, froze the mixture, re-whipped it, and attempted a second photo shoot…. only to have another mishap.

Insert photo #2:

DSC_2268

Yes, that is a fly… a fly resting on a donut… a fly resting on a donut that is once again appearing to be sick to its stomach. Don’t flies supposedly vomit when they land on food? I have a feeling that might be one of those urban myths that I have yet to google. If not, call National Geographic because this photo is life imitating art or art imitating life or something deep like that. Philosophy was never my thing.

I am quite sure in the same chapter where they mention avoiding discussions on illness and food, that same ‘how to write a food blog’ book also mentions not allowing insects to make appearances in your food photography. I never read that book. They might also mention not taking photos on your balcony to prevent insect-food encounters. I really should read that book.

There you have it. I tried really hard to take a good picture of this wonderfully wonderful recipe, but I have fallen short.  While my insect-infested, virus-stricken donut photo leaves A LOT to be desired, the taste does not. Trust me, not my photos. Don’t ever trust my photos.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Baked Coconut Donuts with Coconut Cream
Source: Daphne Oz
Printable Recipe

1C flour
1/3C sugar
1 1/2tsp baking powder
1/4tsp salt
1/4tsp cinnamon
1/3C unsweetened coconut flakes
1/2C non-fat plain yogurt
1/2tsp apple cider vinegar
1/2tsp vanilla extract
2 egg whites
3T coconut oil
no-stick spray

Coconut Whipped Cream
10oz can full-fat coconut cream, refrigerated
2T powdered sugar
1/2tsp vanilla extract
salt
optional: dark chocolate

Preheat oven to 350. Lightly spritz a donut pan with no-stick spray. Set aside.
In a bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and coconut flakes.
In a small pan, combine yogurt, vinegar, vanilla, egg whites, and coconut oil. Place over low heat while stirring constantly. Remove from heat as soon as oil ingredients are incorporated and mixture is slightly warmed. (note: mixture should not be hot or cooked… just lukewarm)
Remove from heat. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients. Stir until just combined.
Place dough into piping bag (or ziploc bag with corner snipped). Pipe mixture into donut pans.
Bake at 350 for 17-18 minutes, until edges golden and a toothpick comes out clean.
Remove from pan and allow to cool.

While the donuts are cooling, make the cream filling. Chill a bowl and beaters in the freezer for 15 minutes.
Open a can of coconut cream (that you have refrigerated for a few hours). Spoon off the top white cream layer. This should total 3/4 – 1C of cream and you should be left with a clear-ish syrup in the can.  Reserve the clear-ish syrup for other recipes.
Take the coconut cream and beat it in chilled bowl using cold beaters for about 2 minutes, until soft peaks form. Add in 2T of sugar (optional) and vanilla (optional) and a pinch of salt (optional).
Cut donuts in 1/2. Spoon cream mixture onto cut donuts. Drizzle melted chocolate over top if desired.

Leave a Reply

