One Hot Yogi, One Pan Pasta

I have a feeling a youtube clip of me attempting to do yoga would quickly go viral.

Guys, I’m a yogi now… and I don’t mean the bear variety. My roommate and I signed up for a free week of hot (and I mean hot hot hot) yoga at a fancy (and did I mention hot?) yoga place a few blocks away. As it turns out, I am not a yoga master. Whodathunk?

My tree pose looks like a weeping willow (that is literally weeping).

I have no upper body strength and it shows. I still am convinced I am missing a pectoralis muscle or two.

I sweat so much I can hardly keep my feet planted on the mat. Hot yoga is hot. And I mean h-o-t!

I look like a newbie with my inappropriate gear and sad looking moves. Who needs a yoga towel for their yoga mat when they can just use a regular towel, right? Right? Wrong! My cheap blue bath towel turned me into a lint-covered-blue-mess (ala cookie monster or a blue man group member) which first became noticeable when I emerged from the dark yoga room last class. Note to self: cheap towels are cheap for a reason. Additional note to self: yoga pants love lint. Last note to self: don’t buy blue towels for yoga class.

Yes, I’m a yoga master… in training.

Yoga is hard. This recipe is easy. It’s all about balance, yo.

DSC_2100

We start with a pot and a delicious mess of ingredients. We drizzle in water and a little olive oil. We throw it on some heat and let it boil. We toss it a time or two to ensure even cooking. Also, we like tossing with tongs. It makes us feel like chefs. We eat it and we can’t believe the amazing-ness. We can’t believe it at all.

Did you notice what we didn’t do? We didn’t strain or drain. We didn’t dirty more than one pot. We cooked the ‘sauce’ with the pasta. What the what the what the what?

FotoFlexer_Photo

 

One pot. Pasta perfection. If only yoga was this easy…

One Pan Pasta
Source: Martha Stewart
Printable Recipe

12 oz whole wheat linguine
12 oz cherry tomatoes, quartered
1 onion, thinly sliced
4 cloves garlic, sliced thinly
1/2tsp red pepper flakes
4 basil leaves, torn into a few pieces (+ extra for serving)
2T olive oil
salt, pepper
4 1/2C water
parmesan cheese (optional for serving)

In a large skillet, combine pasta, tomatoes, onion, garlic, red pepper flakes, basil, oil, 1tsp salt, 1/4tsp pepper, and water. You may need to break linguine in half to fit into the skillet.
Bring mixture to a boil over high heat. Turn pasta mixture occasionally using tongs. Cook until water is nearly evaporated and pasta is cooked through, about 9 minutes.
Remove from heat. Taste and adjust seasonings. Serve with extra basil and/or parmesan.

Leave a Reply

