Crazy Aunts, Cauliflower

Hide your electronics because crazy ants are here. Ants as in bugs, not the aunts that are related to you. I know they can bug you too. These ants (the bug-kind) apparently eat through electrical wires. Wait, your aunts do that too? Now I’m all sorts of confused. Sounds like you have crazy aunts.

I’ve been hearing about crazy ants, giant mosquitos and Belarusian killing beavers lately. I’m just adding to my mental list of animals/insects/things I would prefer to avoid. In the meantime, I’m cooking cauliflower. Yes, I’m still stuck on cauliflower. It’s been 3 + months of persistent cauliflower consumption. And I’m not over it yet. Not over it at all.

For those that live in the Chicagoland area, you may have heard of a little restaurant called Girl and the Goat. I haven’t been. (PS Want to take me?) I’ve heard a lot about it and when I saw a cauliflower recipe from the head chef Stephanie Izard  I knew I had to try it as soon as possible. Top Chef fans, do you remember Stephanie?? This recipe has it all: cauliflower, parmesan, garlic, panko, pickled peppers, and mint. It’s the type of recipe that makes my head spin and my mouth water. I reserve the word ‘delectable’ for this sort of dish. D-E-L-E-C-T-A-B-L-E.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Roasted Cauliflower + Crunch Butter and Pickled Peppers
Source: Stephanie Izard
Printable Recipe

2T canola oil
1 head cauliflower, quartered and cut into 1/4″ slices
3T crunch butter
2T mint leaves
1/4C pine nuts, toasted
1/2C parmesan, grated
1/3C pickled peppers*
salt, pepper

In a large skillet, add oil and heat over medium-high heat. Add cauliflower and cook until caramelized, about 6 minutes. Stir once or twice during the cooking time.
Season with salt and pepper. Cook for additional 2 minutes.
Add crunch butter. When it melts, add in chopped mint, peppers (chopped), pine nuts, and parmesan. Cook for additional 1 minute.
Take off heat and serve. Garnish with additional mint, parmesan and pine nuts.
*original recipe has a recipe for pickled peppers. I simply bought a jar of pickled peppers (sliced mild pepper rings).

Crunch Butter
3T butter, room temperature
1 clove garlic, minced
1T fresh grated parmesan
3T panko crumbs

Combine above ingredients until well incorporated.

Leave a Reply

