Why I Make A Great Date (Shake)

Dates. Dates. Dates. I’m obsessed lately. I can’t get enough of them. Every time I see a recipe that mentions dates, I HAVE to try it. HAVE TO.

So I did some research (aka I went on wikipedia) and read a little about my new favorite fruit. Now, I not only eat dates, but I have a whole slew of date-related facts. Sidenote: I make a great date … the kind that talks about dates on dates. That’s the best kind of date in case you didn’t know.

Back to dates (the edible kind) and how much I love and adore them and how I’m convinced there are no limitations to the date and how I can’t even imagine a world without dates. That last sentence was a purposeful run-on sentence in a vain attempt to convey my passion for the date. I also used a hyperbole. I can imagine a world without dates, albeit a little sad.

Back to dates (the edible kind) again. Dates have no limitations. They know no limitations. I’ve got dates in my desserts, dates in my granola bars, dates to sweeten things, and dates in savory dishes. There are even dates in my calendar. (insert laughter)

When I started seeing date shakes popping up on the world wide web, I knew I needed to try this creation for myself. Stat. So I did. And OMG. Delicious date heaven. I’ve since tried about 4 different variations, all of which were oh-so-datey-delicious. OMG. Dates. Now, I’m using periods and incomplete sentences to convey my passion for dates. Writing is a powerful tool, friends. So is deceiving readers into thinking your lack of grammar is purposeful instead of lazy and ill-advised. (insert laughter again)

FotoFlexer_Photo

Chocolate Date Shake (+/- banana) 
Source: A Couple Cooks
Printable Recipe

1 can coconut milk (lite or regular)
6 medjool dates*
2T raw cacao powder**
1/2tsp vanilla extract***
optional: 1 banana****

Divide coconut milk in half. Freeze half of coconut milk in an ice cube tray. Refrigerate the remaining coconut milk while you wait for the ice cubes to freeze.
Once frozen, place ice cubes, additional coconut milk, cacao powder, pitted dates, vanilla, and banana (if using) in a blender.
Blend until smooth. Enjoy!

Notes:
* Pit the dates please
** You can substitute cocoa powder, but I liked the raw cacao better
*** Not necessary. My shakes were fine without the extract.
**** I liked the banana in there, but I used 4 dates when I made it with the banana — feel free to use frozen or fresh banana
***** Peanut butter? Almond butter? I can think of a hundred additional things I want to throw in this recipe
****** At what point do these additional notes/asteriks become obnoxious? Maybe three notes ago? I thought so.

Leave a Reply

