Coconut Bread and Sad Songs with Jewel

DSC_0401

For some odd reason, my song of the week is ‘Foolish Games’ by Jewel.  Yes, I know it’s not 1997. Yes, I wikipedia-ed when this song debuted: July 8, 1997.

It’s a really sad song, but I’m not sad. To the best of my knowledge, I am not going through a messy breakup and/or involved in a sad love story. In fact, I’m all smiles.

So why am I digging it? No idea.

If there are any psychiatrists/psychologists/mental health experts out there who want to analyze my iPod playlist for free, please contact me. I’ve got hours worth of sad songs, Celine Dion ballads, and Elton John music. My gut tells me this information says something (for better or worse) about my psyche.

As Jewel (and I) were singing loudly in my kitchen, I made this bread.

Note: This bread was beyond delicious.

Note: This bread was so delicious I decided to play a celebratory song on my iPod. Yes, it was in fact ‘Foolish Games’ by Jewel. Again, I know it’s not 1997.

Note: I’m playing the aforementioned song while typing this post. I’ll assume you can guess what I’m going to listen to when I’m done.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Coconut Bread
Source: Bill Granger via Smitten Kitchen
Printable Recipe

2 eggs
1 1/4C milk
1tsp vanilla
2 1/2C AP flour
1/4tsp salt
2tsp baking powder
2tsp cinnamon
1C sugar
1 1/2C flaked coconut*
6T unsalted butter, melted
non-stick spray

Preheat oven to 350. Spray a bread pan (9×5) with no-stick spray or grease with butter.
In a bowl, whisk eggs, milk and vanilla until well combined.
In a different bowl, sift flour, salt, baking powder and cinnamon. Add sugar and coconut. (Note: the original recipe calls for sweetened flaked coconut, but I used unsweetened with delicious results).
Make a hole in the center of the flour mixture and add egg mixture. Stir until just combined. Add in butter. Stir until just combined.
Bake at 350 for 60 to 75 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan for a few minutes, then turn out onto a rack to cool.
Serve. Maybe with this? Pineapple butter. 

Leave a Reply

