Cauliflower(s)

Easter came. Easter went. I had a nice time, did you?

My holidays are now a mix of pinterest inspiration and family tradition. I saw this and we did this:

IMG_1476

We used electrical tape to create our designs.

IMG_1477

Easter egg dying is serious business. Please note the face design on the egg. It’s subtle. Also, I promise you he was enjoying himself in this picture. He’s subtle.

IMG_1478Inspired? Sure. Fun? Yes.

Lately, I’ve been on a cauliflower kick. Every time I go to the store I buy not 1, but 2.

Two heads are better than one.

The other day I saw this recipe and was instantly inspired. So I ran to the store, bought all the ingredients, got home, and promptly realized I had forgotten several of the key ingredients. Story of my life.

So, I roasted some cauliflower and threw store-bought BBQ sauce on top.

DSC_0142

Inspired? No. Delicious? Yes.

I took the remaining head (remember: 2 heads better than 1) and made this rice dish.

FotoFlexer_PhotoInspired? Yes. Delicious? Yes. Photographic? No.

Creamy Cauliflower Garlic Rice
Source: Pinch of Yum
Printable Recipe

8C chopped cauliflower
4C veggie broth + 2C water
1/2C milk
1 1/2C brown rice
1tsp salt
2T butter
6 cloves garlic
1/2C mozzarella cheese

Cook the brown rice as directed. Set aside.
In a large pot, boil veggie broth and water. Add chopped cauliflower. Cook for 10 minutes, until tender. Transfer the cooked cauliflower pieces to a food processor. Set aside the water/broth mixture – you may need it in the next step.
Puree cauliflower until smooth. Add in milk to achieve smooth consistency. You may need to add in some veggie broth (1/4 to 1/2C) to achieve desired consistency. Season puree with salt.
Add cauliflower puree to cooked brown rice.
In a sauté’ pan, melt the butter over medium heat. Add minced garlic. Sauté’ until fragrant, about 2 minutes. Add mixture to rice mixture. Stir in cheese. Taste and add salt, pepper, and more cheese if needed.

Leave a Reply

