I Heart Granola Bars

DSC_0201

I am fully aware that my hand to granola bar ratio is off in that picture. I never claimed to be a photographer. Or a good granola bar slicer for that matter. I’m really not.

Granola bars and I are like the best of friends. It’s pathetic actually.

My go-to breakfast, lunch, or dinner for years has been a granola bar +/- yogurt +/- fruit +/- veggie. I never claimed to be a ‘foodie’ by any stretch of the imagination. I’m really not.

Confession: I don’t believe in using work microwaves or work fridges. I’m not sure what your workplace has available, but the filth and grime that cake the available appliances where I work leaves me feeling a little a lot sick to my stomach. Therefore, I stick to my thrown-together, ultra-predictable, go-to meal at work.

Healthy? Somewhat, sometimes, a little, depending on which yogurt, which fruit, which veggie goes into my work bag. I never claimed to be a nutritionist. I’m really not.

Quick? Absolutely. 2 seconds to ‘make,’ and 1 minute to consume.

Thoughtless? Agreed. I’m thoughtful in other aspects of my life.

I’ve made attempts to purchase ‘healthier’ granola bars in recent years, fully realizing that even corn-syrup-free granola bars often contain the same amount of sugar and fat as a candy bar. I can’t lie to you. Sometimes, I eat a candy bar instead. I’ve tried recipes for a few granola bars, larabar copycats, and protein bars, most of which were pretty delicious. Until now, I hadn’t really found a recipe that had me smitten.

When I found this granola bar recipe, I immediately liked the adaptability. You mean, I can choose what I put into it? I’m in. I’m so so in. It’s not the healthiest. It’s not the prettiest. But, it’s easy, delicious and versatile. And in my mind, eating a granola bar that I’ve made myself (sugar-filled or not) is much better than heating anything in that gross work microwave. I never claimed to be rationale. I’m really not.

Granola Bars. It’s whats for dinner. And lunch. And breakfast.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Chewy Granola Bars 
Source: Heavenly Homemaker
Printable Recipe

1/2C nut butter (ex: peanut butter, almond butter, sunbutter…)
1/3C honey
1/4C oil (ex: olive oil or coconut oil)
1C old-fashioned oats
2T flaxseeds (optional)
1C total of mix-ins (ex: seeds, nuts, dried fruits, chocolate chips, chia seeds, coconut flakes, etc)

Over medium-heat, combine nut butter, honey, and oil. Stir until melted and warmed through. Be careful not to let this burn.
Take off of the heat. Add oats and flaxseed. Stir to combine. Add in mix-ins. Note: I poured my oat mixture into a separate bowl prior to adding in my mixins to keep the chocolate chips from melting.

Remove from heat and add one cup of oats.  Choose your favorite combination of coconut flakes, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, dried fruit and mini chocolate chips, to equal a total of ONE CUP.  (I just got out my one cup measuring cup and poured in the ingredients until the cup was full.)  Pour in and stir well.

Stir well, then spread mixture into a 8×8 or 9×4 pan.

my favorite combination to date: 1/2C almond butter + 1/3C honey + 1/4C olive oil + 1C oats + 2T flaxseeds + 1C (1/3C chopped almonds, 1/3C dried cherries, 1/3C white chocolate chips)

Leave a Reply

