A Tale As Old As Time and Celery Root

I don’t know if one can technically be ‘so into celery root.’

If that’s a ‘thing,’ than I’ve got ‘it.’

If overusing quotes is a ‘thing’ too, then I’ve got that as well.

My sincere ‘apologies.’

I put that in quotes because I’m not really sorry. The grammar police are outraged, I am sure. Guilty as charged.

DSC_0061

Back to celery root – I’m digging it lately and I don’t mean that literally despite the fact that it does come right from the ground. If you don’t know what celery root is or what celery root looks like, do yourself a favor and don’t google it. It is certainly one of the ugliest looking vegetables of all time. Then again, so was the Beast in Beauty & The Beast and we all know what a hunk-of-burning-love he turned out to be once Belle shed a few tears onto his hideously furry face. It’s a tale as old as time.

tumblr_m524vcCsgq1r321yvo1_400
Source

No, No, No. I’m not crying into my ugly looking celery root. I only cry over my onions and it’s for different reasons.

So what am I doing with this grotesque looking veggie?

I’m peeling it. I’m chopping it. I’m mixing it with parsnips, barley, leeks, broth, and spinach. And I’m consuming it in large quantities, soup-style.

Celery root – it’s what’s for dinner.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Nordic Winter Vegetable Soup
Source: Food & Wine
Printable Recipe

3T olive oil
1 large onion, diced
2 leeks, thinly sliced (white and tender green parts)
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1C pearled barley
8C vegetable broth (low sodium preferable)
4C water
10 sprigs of fresh thyme (tied into bundle or leaves stripped of sprigs)
2 bay leaves
1 1/2lb celery root (1 medium sized)
1lb parsnips, peeled and cut into 1/2in pieces
salt
pepper
1lb baby spinach
parmesan rind (optional)
parmesan cheese (optional)

In a very large pot, heat oil over medium heat. Add onion and leeks. Cook until tender, about 4 minutes. Add garlic. Cook for additional minute. Stir in barley.
Add in broth, water, thyme, bay leaves. Bring to a boil.
Add celery root, parsnips, salt, and pepper. Reduce to a simmer. Add in optional parmesan rind if you desire.
Simmer for 40 minutes, until vegetables are tender.
Remove bay leave, parmesan rind, and thyme sprigs (if you added the sprigs).
Stir in spinach. Cook for 5 minutes. Taste and adjust seasonings.
Serve with crusty bread and/or a sprinkle of parmesan.
Note: The original recipe calls for freshly grated nutmeg, which I don’t really like in savory things. I opted to put in parmesan and leave this out.

Leave a Reply

