Creamy Root Vegetable Farrotto

IMG_1675

It’s amazing to me just how many foods are available in the grocery store. I’m convinced there are about 1 trillion foods I still haven’t even realized exist. I still buy plain-jane apples, boring bananas, and unoriginal old-fashioned oatmeal regularly. Shame on me.

Farro? Farro? Farro?

When I hear the word ‘farro,’ I assume ‘pharaoh.’ This has me thinking about the very youthful King Tut, creepy scarab beetles, incredible pyramids, and popular 80s dance tunes that had and still have a lot of people attempting to ‘walk like an Egyptian.’ It also has me thinking of the time I saw the movie “The Mummy” at a sleepover. I didn’t sleep for several days afterwards. It was 1999. I just re-watched the trailer. I’ve grown up a lot since then.

This is a very different farro. And to be completely honest, in the real world, it’s pronounced very different then ‘pharaoh.’ I know this now.

This dish is a little bit risotto-esque, minus the intense stirring and the inevitable elimination of all those who attempt to cook it on Top Chef. Note: If you find yourself competing on Top Chef, don’t cook risotto. You will thank me later.

This is creamy, dreamy, and chock full of parsnips and radishes. Intrigued? So was I.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Creamy Root Vegetable Farrotto
Source: Mario Batali
Printable Recipe

2C farro
2T olive oil
1 bunch radishes, quartered
1 shallot, finely diced
2 parsnips, peeled and julienned
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1/2C dry white wine
1 1/2C vegetable broth
1C parmesan cheese
parsley to garnish (optional)
salt, pepper

Cook farro according to package directions, subtracting 1 minute from cooking time. Boil in water (or broth for extra flavor.)
In a large pan, saute shallot and radish with olive oil. Season with salt. Cook for about 6 minutes, until radishes are slightly caramelized.
Add parsnips and cook for about 2 minutes.
Add garlic and sauté for 30 seconds, until fragrant.
Stir in cooked farro.
Add white wine followed by stock. Cook until stock is nearly gone.
Remove from heat and add in parmesan. Stir to combine.
Garnish with parsley and extra olive oil.
Serve. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

