Valentine’s Day Red Pepper Pesto

IMG_1564

I went to the grocery store to celebrate Valentine’s Day. I’ve been in love with the grocery store for some time. It’s serious

… seriously costly.

I skipped by the flowers. Flowers wilt and then smell. I know this from experience. Feel free to buy me flowers. I’ll cope with the wilting and the smelling.

I passed by the chocolate. Admittedly, I had already eaten a healthy dose of chocolate this week. And by ‘healthy dose,’ I mean ridiculously, unhealthy quantity.

I didn’t even look at the cards. Paying $4 for a card isn’t really my thing. Also, I ran out of stamps 2 weeks ago. 46 cents per stamp? I’m saving for a pet carrier pigeon.

So if I wasn’t there for chocolate, cards, or other V-day hoopla, what exactly was I after?

Valentine’s Day red peppers of course.

Red peppers to roast, pulverize, and toss with pasta. Mmmm… red pepper pesto… mmmmmm.

Sorry that I just used the word ‘pulverize.’ It doesn’t really seem Valentine’s Day appropriate to me either.

Who ever said Valentine’s Day was all chocolate, flowers, and $4 cards?

FotoFlexer_Photo

I’ll take the red pepper pesto, thank you very much.

Roasted Red Bell Pepper Pesto
Source: adapted from about.com
Printable Recipe

1 (12oz) jar roasted red bell peppers
3 cloves garlic
1/3C walnuts
1/2C fresh basil
1/4C parmesan cheese (alt: nutritional yeast)
1/4C olive oil
salt, pepper to taste

Combine bell peppers, garlic, basil and cheese in food processor. Drizzle in olive oil while food processor is on. Taste and add salt/pepper to taste.

Serving suggestion: pasta and a sprinkle of extra parmesan cheese

Leave a Reply

