Untitled

This post was drafted at 1:34pm on 1/9/13:

I’ve got my feet up on the coffee table right now. My socks don’t match, but you have to really squint to tell. It’s a subtle fashion faux pas.  I slept in this morning. Did I ever tell you I’m not very good at sleeping in?  It was 7:41AM for those wondering.

It’s called a lazy day and I am savoring every minute of it.

Savoring. Every. Minute. Of. It.

Also. Don’t. You. Get. Mad. When. People. Put. Lots. Of. Purposefully. Misplaced. Punctuation. Just. Because. They. Can?

You can rest assured that when I make grammatical mistakes they are truthfully made by mistake.

I’m not proofreading this little blog post today. Remember, I’m having a lazy day. The kind of day when I’m carefree… so carefree I’m not even worried about extraneous periods, misplaced ellipses, and ending sentences with prepositions. Mrs. V(insert like 13 additional letters that I don’t quite remember), my 8th grade English teacher, would be extremely disappointed.*

Lazy days like today call for lazy recipes. The kind of recipe that comes together in a 1-2-3 flash.

Meet spicy, sweet, and oh-so satisfying dragon noodles:

FotoFlexer_Photo

Step 1 –> Step  2 –> Step 3 –> food is done –> stuff your face –> contemplate doing the dishes –>  decide against doing the dishes –> return to couch

Hooray for lazy days!

Dragon Noodles
Source: Budget Bytes
Printable Recipes

4oz lo mein noodles
1T sriracha
1T soy sauce
1T brown sugar
1T butter (alternate a spritz of no-stick spray)
1 egg, whisked
pinch of crushed red pepper flakes
1 green onion, sliced
handful of fresh cilantro

Bring water to a boil in a pot. Add noodles. Cook according to package directions.
While the noodles are boiling, combine sriracha, soy sauce, and brown sugar in a bowl. Stir to combine and set aside.
Heat a skillet over medium heat. Add butter. Once melted, add whisked egg. Sprinkle in a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes. Scramble the egg.
When the noodles are done cooking, strain them.
Add cooked noodles to pan with scrambled egg. Add in the sriracha-sugar-soy sauce. Stir to combine. Turn off the heat and transfer to serving dish.
Garnish with green onion and cilantro.

* Dear Mrs. V(insert like 13 additional letters that I don’t exactly remember),
If you read this blog I would like to formally apologize for my inability to remember most (if not all) of the grammar skills you so diligently taught me. Apparently, I have misplaced and/or inadvertently removed all of that knowledge over the years. It’s probably located near the basic arithmetic skills that frequently elude me.

* Dear reader,
If you read this blog, I’d like to formerly apologize for my inability to remember most (if not all) of the grammar skills I was supposedly taught. Feel free to print out any of my blog posts, correct the errors using a red ballpoint pen (not blue or black or erasable!), and mail them to me. Also, I would appreciate it if you would use standard proofreaders’ marks. Lastly, if you think my grammar on here is bad, you should see my grocery lists**, texts, and emails.

Leave a Reply

