Happy New Year!

I’m thinking about renaming my blog to “Why I’ll Never Have Drool-Worthy Abs  (a la Gisele Bunchen): My Cookie Story.”

Seriously, my last 6 + posts have been cookie recipes. I’ll be the first to admit I am a cookie monster and it has been cookie season, but I promise to post a non-cookie recipe soon — like maybe 3 posts from now soon.

But back to the cookies/treats/desserts…

For those of you wondering why I’m still posting about chocolates, candies, and cookies while the rest of the blogosphere is merrily posting about healthy snacks and salads, I would simply reply: some of us didn’t promise to eat healthy when the clock struck midnight 🙂

FotoFlexer_Photo

English Toffee
Source: Food.Com
Printable Recipe

1C butter
1C sugar
1/4C water
1/2tsp salt
1/2C chocolate chips
1C  chopped pecans

In a pot, combine butter, sugar, water, and salt. Stir constantly over medium-high heat until you reach 300F (hard-crack stage). Note: I have tried VERY unsuccessfully to make this recipe without a candy thermometer – do yourself a favor and purchase a thermometer for best results.
Once at 300, immediately pour mixture into a  ungreased 13×9 pan. Cool completely.
Melt chocolate chips over double boiler or in a microwave. Pour and spread out over hard-toffee. Top with pecans. Allow to cool (refrigerate for faster results).
Break into pieces and serve.

Leave a Reply

