Frosted Pumpkin Cookies and Long Walks Not On The Beach

I went on a long walk with my dog this morning. He and I both like walks. A lot. The best thing about visiting home is that I throw out my standards of living when I hit the state line. No one really knows me this far north, except for my parents and brothers, but they are required to love me no matter what. Right?

So when I go home, I paint my nails Barney-the-dinosaur purple just to see if the color looks good. It doesn’t.

I nix makeup and let my hair air-dry… every day, all day. I’ll spare you a picture.

I religiously wear an unnamed family member’s Crocs. You would too.

I take artistic self-portraits on my phone. I normally criticize people who do this, but when your alone in the woods with your dog who is busy smelling every leaf on the ground…

The only one who judges me for all of this odd behavior?

The dog. This is him being judgmental. He didn’t care for the Crocs or the self-portraits.

Soft Frosted Pumpkin Spice Cookies
Source: The Baker Chick 
Printable Recipe

For the cookies:
2 1/2C AP flour
1tsp baking powder
1tsp baking soda
2tsp cinnamon
1/2tsp nutmeg
1/2tsp cloves
1/2tsp salt
1/2C butter, room temp
1 1/2C sugar
1C pumpkin puree
1 egg
1tsp vanilla extract

For the frosting:
1/2C butter, room temp
1/2C cream cheese, softened
2-3C powdered sugar
1tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350.
In a bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, spices, and salt.
In a different bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add pumpkin, egg, and vanilla. Beat until creamy and combined.
Mix dry ingredients into wet ingredients.
Drop on cookie sheet by tablespoon. Flatten slightly.
Bake for 15-20 minutes, until cooked through.
While cookies are cooling, beat butter and cream cheese together. Slowly add powdered sugar until creamy. Taste. Add vanilla and cinnamon. Taste again. Taste some more. Stop tasting.
Spread frosting on cooled cookies and serve. Store leftovers in airtight container in fridge.

Leave a Reply

