Does Celine Dion Like Beef and Broccoli Stir-Fry? I Don’t Know Either.

I have a few weeks off (yes, I said weeks) in between the job I used to have and the job I am about to start. You won’t hear me complain about the faux-summer I am enjoying.

Certainly, the majority of my time has been spent on work-related tasks, cleaning, cooking (duh!), and visiting family/friends, but I did allow myself some time to just sit back  and relax.

Ok. Ok. I will admit it.

I did spend my morning listening to live versions of “My Heart will Go On” by Celine Dion on YouTube.

Even worse? I am not ashamed. It was time well spent in my book.

Which was the best? All of them. All of them were the best.

Unlike some musical artists, I’m convinced Celine Dion is completely incapable of sounding bad. She doesn’t know how to sing off-key or sound less than amazing. And yes, you can can quote me on that.

If you (like me) intentionally spent the majority of your day watching Celine Dion videos online, then perhaps you (like me) need a quick, quick dinner idea.

This stir-fry is just the thing… because it’s super simple and it makes my heart go on and on. I made a vegan version with tofu and a meat version with steak — all in less than 30 minutes. Take that, Rachel Ray!

Beef & Broccoli (or Tofu & Broccoli)
Source: Food.com 
Printable Recipe

2T + 1T cornstarch
2T + 4T water
1/2tsp garlic powder
1lb boneless round steak, cut into 3 in strips or 1 (14oz) package extra-firm tofu (drained & pressed)
2T vegetable oil, divided
1 small onion, cut into wedges
4C broccoli florets
1 red pepper, seeded and cut into strips (optional )
1/3C low-sodium soy sauce
2T brown sugar
1tsp ground ginger
rice, for serving

In a bowl, combine 2T cornstarch, 2T water, and garlic powder. Add in steak (or tofu) and toss until coated.
In a different bowl, combine 1T, 4T water, soy sauce, brown sugar and ginger. Mix until smooth. Set aside.
Heat a large wok with 1T of vegetable oil over medium heat. Once hot, add steak (or tofu) and stir-fry until cooked, about 1-3 minutes (depending on desired doneness).
Remove steak (or tofu) from wok.
Add additional 1T vegetable oil.
Add in veggies (onion, broccoli, and red pepper). Stir-fry for about 4-5 minutes, until cooked.
Add beef (or tofu) back into pan. Add cornstarch-soy sauce mixture into pan.
Cook sauce, beef, and veggies while stirring for about 2 minutes, until thickened.
Remove from pan. Serve with rice.

One thought on “Does Celine Dion Like Beef and Broccoli Stir-Fry? I Don’t Know Either.

  1. Lol! I do like the song… I remember when we watched titanic at your house… I fast forwarded through the “bad parts” so you wouldn’t see them – haha! Dating myself now… I was old enough to watch, enjoy, and edit Titanic and had to fast forward it because it was on VHS!

Leave a Reply

