Tutus and Chili Season

Last night, I was rummaging through old boxes, looking for my undergraduate diploma.

It took me 3 hours to prove, but just as I had suspected, I did graduate from college. Clearly, I didn’t obtain my degree in organization.

What started as a quick search evolved into a lengthy trip down memory lane – complete with hundreds of pictures, high school yearbooks, an 8 year old’s TOP SECRET! diary, and a myriad of other long-lost keepsakes, awards, and odd items that I like to store for reasons I can’t explain. Who keeps a rusted old bolt, a pen that says “I visited Big Bone Lick State Park,” and about 30 ‘participant’ ribbons from various middle school track events? Me. And no, I don’t plan to get rid of them anytime soon.

During my search, I came across this picture:

I like how I’m wearing a tutu. Chances are this picture wasn’t taken before or after a ballet class. I spent a good portion of my childhood in leotards and tutus.

I like how my brother looks like a floppy fish. He was my new and only baby brother at the time. 21 years later, I still occasionally see him lying around the house in a similar fashion.

I like the brown slip-covered furniture. Not really, but I needed to comment on those slip covers.

I like how happy my mom looks. She was probably more tired than happy, but she was faking it pretty well. Just a few years later, she would have twice the amount of kids, 100% less sleep, but still somehow manage to maintain a smile.

Ahhhh…. memories.

Memories remind me of home. Home reminds me of comfort food. Comfort food makes me think of chili.

I saw a leaf fall to the ground the other day. I watched a football game on TV twice this past week. I felt a brisk breeze this morning.

I’m calling it early – it’s chili season.

Vegetarian Chili
Source: Costa Kitchen
Printable Recipe

olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1 green bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1 jalapeño, seeded and diced finely
3+ cloves garlic, minced (add more if you want)
salt, pepper
1T cumin
2T chili powder
1/2T green tabasco sauce (~12 shakes)
1 (28oz) can crushed tomatoes
1 (15oz) can vegetarian refried beans
1 (15oz) can black beans
1 (15oz) can kidney beans
1/2 bottle of Mexican beer (more depending on consistency desired)

Heat a few tablespoons of olive oil in a large soup pot. Add onion and sautee until translucent. Add green pepper, red pepper, jalapeño, and garlic. Throw in a dash of salt and pepper. Cook until vegetables soft, about 10 minutes.
Once vegetables are softened, add in cumin, chili powder, and green tobacco sauce. Stir to combine.
Add in crushed tomatoes, beans, and beer.
Cook for 25-30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Taste and adjust seasonings.
Enjoy with: sour cream (or Greek yogurt), cheese, crackers, green onions, etc

3 thoughts on “Tutus and Chili Season

Leave a Reply

