Breaking the Rules

This recipe goes against a lot of what I stand for, everything I blog about, and contains everything I don’t usually eat.

This being said:

If I make the rules, I can break the rules.

Yes, this recipe has mayo (which I don’t really like all that much), chicken (and I rarely eat meat), a lot of cheese (not the most healthy choice but I’m from Wisconsin) and a can of soup (the kind with a lot of questionable ingredients on the label).

Sometimes, I break my own rules.

Rules are made to be broken.  Right?

If you disagree, I offered up some possible suggestions if you would like to do less rule-breaking. All suggestions are completely untested – merely ideas.

Chicken & Rice Casserole
Source: Paula Deen
Printable Recipe

2 (14.5oz) cans green beans, drained and rinsed
3C diced cooked chicken (~2 chicken breasts)
1 medium onion, diced, sautéed until translucent, allowed to cool
1 (8oz) can water chestnuts, drained and chopped
1 (4oz) can chopped pimentos, drained
1 (10.75 oz) can condensed cream of celery soup
1C mayo
1 (6oz) box long-grain and wild rice, cooked according to package directions
1C grated cheddar cheese
salt, pepper (a pinch)

Preheat oven to 350. Mix all ingredients together. Stir to combine.
Place casserole mixture into a 3qt casserole dish that has been sprayed with no-stick spray.
Bake for 30-40 minutes, until bubbly.

Think this is just too much rule-breaking for you? Here are some untested suggestions:

1. Leave out the canned soup, use low-fat/low-sodium soup, or use a cup of homemade cream of celery
2. Use part-skim cheese or use less cheese (maybe buy a very sharp cheddar if you cut back on the amount of cheese?)
3. Use low-fat or no-fat mayo
4. Substitute the chicken for meat-free substitute or mushrooms or whatever else you can imagine
5. Don’t make it — I’ll be back with less-rule-breaking dishes soon 🙂

One thought on “Breaking the Rules

Leave a Reply

