A Tale of Two Cousins

Check out that photo finish!

My cousin, Amanda, was my first friend in life (excluding my parents).  I suppose we didn’t really have a choice in the beginning. We lived a few miles away from each other and our parents both relied on the same daycare service (aka my grandparents). That being said, we hit it off as real life friends. She would boss me around and I would listen. I would tell her what to do and she wouldn’t do it. We would play school and dress up, color and draw with crayons, and run through sprinklers (see above) from sun-up to sun-down. It was a match made in heaven – at least most of the time.

Aside from our increased awareness of hand placement in photos (see above), not much has changed about our cousin-ship. 25 years after our initial meeting, we still know how to get together and quite simply, have fun.

This past weekend, I drove north 3 hours for a night of laughter, laughter and more laughter.

I believe in medicine in a big, big way, but I believe in laughter in a bigger, bigger way. Nothing fixes your soul like a good laugh. If I was a pharmaceutical company, I would try to bottle and sell laughter. After all, it has intrinsic healing properties, doesn’t it? Does anything make you feel better than laughing until your abs hurt? laughing until tears run down your cheeks? laughing so hard that no noise comes out of your mouth?

I think not.

I can’t wait for my next laughter-filled, cousins weekend. Until then… I will make chocolate peanut butter cup cookies.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Cookies
Source: Annie’s Eats
Printable Recipe

1 1/2C + 2T AP flour
6T cocoa (Dutch-processed if you can find it)
1/2tsp baking soda
1/2tsp salt
6T unsalted butter, room temp
1/4C + 2T peanut butter
1/2C sugar
1/2C brown sugar
1 egg
1tsp vanilla extract
2T milk
2C peanut butter cups, chopped and divided

Preheat oven to 350. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.
In a bowl, combine flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt.
In a bowl, beat butter, peanut butter, and sugars until light and fluffy. Add egg, vanilla, and milk.
Add dry ingredients into wet ingredients until incorporated. Fold in 1 1/2C of chopped peanut butter cups.
Using a large cookie scoop, drop onto lined baking sheets. Leave about 2-3 inches between cookies. Press a few pieces of the leftover peanut butter cups into the top of each dough ball.
Bake 12-13 minutes, rotating once.
Let them cool 10 minutes on the baking sheet before transferring to wire rack to finish cooling.
Enjoy. Store leftovers in container.

One thought on “A Tale of Two Cousins

Leave a Reply

