Confessions of a Mayo-less Potato Salad Lover

I ate McDonalds this week. Twice. I suppose I shouldn’t admit this as a wannabe-foodie.

I don’t care what you say, I think Taylor Swift is a musical genius.  Aside from her incredible tunes, I also love her because she is way-too tall like me. Tall girls have to stick together in this world. Finding pants that fit properly, coats that have lengthy sleeves, and not-too-short shorts are just a few of the trials and tribulations we have to face. Life is so hard.

I really enjoyed McDonalds twice. I really shouldn’t admit that as a wannabe-foodie.

I’ve been watching old reruns of “Take Home Chef” on netflix. If anyone knows Curtis Stone, please send him to my apartment immediately. I want a tall, attractive, Australian chef helping me in my kitchen!

I bought pre-made pizza dough. I suppose I shouldn’t admit this either as a wannabe-foodie. Maybe I’m still a wannabe wannabe-foodie?

I bought 4 locally-grown, organic eggplant at the farmers market yesterday. You can expect some eggplant recipes to make an appearance on the blog soon. That or you can expect an eggplant on your doorstep with a ‘please eat me before I go bad’ sign attached to it. One or the other certainly will be happening in the next few days.

I’m on my third cup of coffee this morning. It’s only 8am. You should see how fast I am typing right now. Think warp speed.

I made potato salad. In true Andrea form, I skipped on the mayo. Mayo has a place in this world, but not in my potato salad. I repeat. Do not serve me potato salad with mayo.

 

Green Beans & Potato Salad
Inspired by: AllRecipes.Com and Martha Stewart
Printable Recipe

1 1/2 – 2lb small potatoes (I used mixed bag of baby potatoes)
3/4lb green beans, trimmed**
1/4C extra-virgin olive oil
1T whole-grain mustard
1T lemon juice (fresh-squeezed)
1T balsamic vinegar
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 small red onion, sliced thin (or chopped fine)
salt to taste

Bring a large pot of water to boil. Add a pinch of salt. Add green beans and simmer for 2-3 minutes, until barely tender. Remove with a spoon and transfer to a bowl of ice water to stop the cooking. Drain and pat dry. Wash and halve each potato. To the same pot of salted water, add potatoes. Simmer until fork-tender, about 10 minutes. Drain.
In a small bowl, whisk together olive oil, mustard, lemon juice, balsamic vinegar, garlic. Add to green beans and potatoes. Stir in red onion. Taste and adjust seasonings.

**If you looked at my picture and you were good at eye spy games as a child, you may have noticed the presence of some asparagus. I added in some leftover roasted asparagus I had in my fridge. It was good and I would suggest you think about adding asparagus to your salad as well. Mmmmm asparagus. Mmmmmm green beans. Mmmmmmm.

 

Leave a Reply

