On my Poor Poor Plant and Cinnamon Swirl Raisin Bread

Dear gardeners of America,

Look at my plant, my poor poor little plant.

My little plant doesn’t look so good and it’s all my fault. Once every few weeks, I suddenly remember the green vegetation exists in the corner of my apartment, so I water the heck out of it. Then the once-dry and dead appearing plant drowns and appears even more dead. Too dry, Too wet, Too dry, Too wet – the cycle repeats. It’s not quite photosynthesis, but I never said I was a botanist.

Now let’s focus on the better part of that picture. It’s a smidge to the left. Do you see it and all of it’s swirly cinnamon-y goodness?

Let’s zoom in a bit.

This was my first attempt at a swirled yeast bread and it was a a success!

Now that I’ve conquered swirly-raisiny-cinnamony-yeast bread, I’m off to tackle bigger and better things… like remembering to water my plant… my poor poor plant.

Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread
Source: The Kitchn
Printable Recipe

1C raisins
1C warm water
1T yeast (active dry)
6T sugar
1C milk (~110 degrees)
1/4T butter, melted
2tsp salt
5 1/2- 6C AP flour

1/2C granulated white sugar
1 1/2T cinnamon
1 egg + 2tsp water

In a small bowl, combine water and raisins. Allow them to plump, at least 10 minutes. Drain. Set aside.

Pour a cup of water (~110 degrees) into a bowl. You can use the leftover raisin water for extra sweetness. Sprinkle over yeast and sugar. Allow to sit for a few minutes, until yeast begins to bubble/foam.

Add milk, melted butter (allowed to cool), and salt. Add about 5C of flour and stir to form dough. Using hands (or dough hook and mixer) knead dough. Add in flour until dough is slightly tacky, but kneadable. Knead for 8 to 10 minutes, adding flour if dough becomes too sticky. Toss raisins with a few teaspoons of flour. Mix in raisins until evenly distributed.

Place dough in slightly-oiled bowl and cover. Let the dough rise for about 1 hr, or until doubled.

In a small bowl, combine sugar and cinnamon. In a different bowl, beat egg and water.

Divide risen dough into 2 even pieces. With one piece, roll dough into a rectangle onto counter. Make sure to roll/stretch dough as thin as possible. Brush the surface of the dough with the egg-water mixture. Sprinkle with 1/2 of the cinnamon sugar mixture.

Starting with the end closest to you, roll dough into a log. Pinch the seam closed and transfer to a loaf pan, placing it seam-side down. (Note: I lined my load pan with a square of parchment paper for easy removal).

Repeat with the remaining dough.

Brush the outside surface with egg wash. Allow loaves to rest until ‘pillowy,’ about 45 minutes.

Preheat oven to 375. Bake risen loaves for 40-45 minutes until golden brown. If loaves begin to brown to quickly, cover with a tin-foil tent.

Remove loaves from pan and let cool. Slice and enjoy. You can also freeze bread and enjoy later.

Leave a Reply

