You say Cold Pop, I say Popsicle

The Olympics are coming! The Olympics are coming!

Some recipes are serious business.

Most recipes are not.

This popsicle recipe had me so jazzed, I put on my fancy earrings and had my own mini photo shoot.

Mmmmmm popsicles!

I should mention that it was 100+ degrees outside when I took these pics. Perhaps it was the great flavor and the dehydration combined  that had me shooting self-portraits with popsicles. Either way…

You can judge me.

Or you can make some popsicles and have your own photo shoot.

The choice, my friends, is yours.

And obviously these are red, white, and blue to continue my pre-Olympics celebration!

Red, White, and Blueberry Popsicles
Source: Everyday Food Summer Special 2012
Printable Recipe

2C hulled strawberries
6T sugar, divided
6T lime juice (~3 limes), divided
1/2C plain yogurt (I used greek)
3T heavy cream (or half-and-half)
2C blueberries

In a blender, combine strawberries, 2T sugar, and 2T lime juice. Puree. Press mixture through fine-mesh sieve. Divide puree among ice-pop molds. Freeze until firm, about 30 minutes.
While the first layer is freezing, make the white layer. Combine yogurt, heavy cream, 2T sugar, and 2T lime juice. Remove ice-pop molds from freezer. Add a layer of yogurt to each. Freeze until firm, about 30 minutes.
While the 2nd layer is freezing, make the final blue layer. Combine blueberries, 2T sugar, and 2T lime juice in a blender. Puree until smooth. Pour through sieve to remove seeds/solids. Remove molds from freezer and top each with blueberry mixture.
Freeze until completely solid, minimum of 6 hours. Run under warm water for an easy release prior to serving. Enjoy on a hot day. Or a cold day. Or both.

One thought on “You say Cold Pop, I say Popsicle

Leave a Reply

