The Olympics are coming! The Olympics are coming!

The Olympics are coming! The Olympics are coming!

Happy the-Olympics-are-coming week!

I don’t know about you, but NOTHING gets me more excited than the Olympic games. Every 4 years, I scream, cheer, hoot, and holler for my favorite athletes as they tumble, swim, run, and ping-pong to gold medals. I have fond memories of Kerri Strug landing her final vault on a broken ankle in 1997. I will never forget watching the incredible Tergat-Gebrselassie rival battle it out  in the 10,000 meter at the Sydney games. I loved Michael Johnson’s gold shoes. I still love those shoes. How about that Michael Phelps guy? I’ve seen him swim more than a few incredible races. I could go on and on and on. I’ve even researched many great Olympic moments that were before my time just so I could experience those too. I guess you could call me an Olympic super fan. Or you could call me crazy. I’ll let you decide.

When the national anthem plays and the medal is placed around their neck, I cry along with them.

When they narrowly miss their lifelong dream, I cry along with them again.

I cry a lot during the Olympics.

I don’t really care about archery, but I do for the next few days.

I don’t always obsess about sports, but I will for the next few days.

I’m not always the most patriotic, but I am for the next few days.

To get in the mood, I’m going red, white, and blue with these funfetti blondies.

Go USA! Go world! Go athletes! Go Olympians! Goooooooooooooo!!!!!!

Funfetti Blondies
Source: The Sweets LifeFake Ginger
Printable Recipe

1C cake mix (white or yellow)
1C All-purpose flour
1/4tsp baking soda
3/4C butter, melted and cooled slightly
1/2C brown sugar
1/2C white sugar
2tsp vanilla
1 egg + 1 egg yolk
4T of sprinkles (the more the merrier)

Preheat oven to 350.
Prep an 8x8inch pan with parchment.
Combine sugar, butter, vanilla, egg, and egg yolk until smooth.
Stir in cake mix, flour, and baking soda.
Mix in sprinkles.
Spread evenly in prepped pan.
Bake for 35+ minutes, until top is browned and middle is only a bit jiggly.
Allow to cool. Cut into bars. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

