Does Tom Cruise like Burrito Bowls? Hmmmmmmmm….

Let me forewarn you. This isn’t a post about Katie Holmes or Tom Cruise. Although I will admit that I’ve read all the gossip and I’ve got my own theories about what did and did not happen to their marriage.

I won’t divulge my opinions on their supposed custody agreement. I don’t even feel like telling you if I think that Katie will continue life as a scientologist or not. I do like Suri’s adorable fashion sense. I will say that.

This is a post about something I care far more about, something that relates more to my daily life, something that (unfortunately) didn’t make front page news this week: burrito bowls.

Nothing makes me happier than when the ingredients of a burrito are thrown into a bowl. I’ve had many embarrassing, tortilla-tearing messes on my hand (literally on my hand) thanks to my appreciation for over-stuffed, over-salsa-ed burritos. Enter burrito bowl. Voila! Burrito messes be gone!

Dear Burrito-with-a-tortilla-wrapper, 

I like you all cute and wrapped up. I really do love that tortilla flavor. Sometimes, I don’t want to deal with the hassle. Don’t be sad. I’m ditching the wrapper, but I’m not ditching the flavor or the burrito-eating fun. Unlike Katie and Tom, we are so not over. 

Love,
And

Quinoa Chipotle Burrito Bowl
Source: Naturally Ella
Printable Recipe

1T olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
1 green pepper, seeded and chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2C frozen corn
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1-2 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, chopped ( less or more depending on heat preference)
2 T adobo sauce
2C cooked quinoa
additional toppings: sour cream, cilantro, lime, cheese

In a skillet, heat olive oil. Sauce onion until translucent, about 3 minutes. Add green pepper and cook for about 3 minutes longer, until softened. Stir in garlic, cook for 30 seconds. Add corn, black beans, chipotle pepper , and adobo sauce. Heat through, about 3-5 minutes.

To serve: put cooked quinoa in a bowl. Top with a scoop of black bean mixture. Top with sour cream (or whatever else you would like).

Leave a Reply

