Pasta Primavera and Lazy Summer Days

I’ve been cooking a lot lately. 

I don’t mean food.

I am talking about myself.  I’ve been roasting and toasting in my very hot apartment. The outside temperature has been in the high 90s/100s for a week now and my apartment is even hotter. My little plant is so wilted it makes me want to cry. I can’t cry though – no tears will come when you’re this dehydrated.

I’ve also been biting off more than I can chew. 

I don’t mean food.

I’ve been taking on projects that I don’t need to take on, picking up extra weekend shifts at work for reasons I can’t explain and saying ‘yes’ to just about everything… everything except jumping off bridges. I don’t jump off bridges (even when my friends do). My mom taught me well.

Today was very different though. I woke up later than I usually do. I went for a nice, long run. I sat on my couch. I sat on my couch a little longer. I read a book. I sipped coffee slowly, allowing myself to enjoy the aroma and taste. I went to the grocery store with a makup-less face and unruly hair. I made a yummy pasta dish for dinner. I sat on my couch one more time.

Today, I relaxed. The weather was a cool 88 degrees with a slight breeze. It felt glorious in comparison to the heat we’ve been experiencing. I spent my day not thinking about work. I spent the rest of my day avoiding everything and anything I needed to get done.

It was perfect.

Cheers to feeling cooked in the summer heat and biting off more than you can chew most of the time.

Occasionally, cheers to doing neither of those things.

Cheers to lazy summer days.

 

Pasta Primavera
Source: Giada DeLaurentiis
Printable Recipe

3 carrots, peeled and cut into thin strips
2 medium zucchini, cut into thin strips
2 yellow squash, cut into thin strips
1 onion, thinly sliced
1 yellow bell pepper, seeded and cut into strips
1 red bell pepper, seeded and cut into strips
1/4C olive oil
salt, pepper
1T dried italian herbs
1lb farfalle
15 cherry tomatoes, halved
grated parmesan (~1/2C)

Preheat to 450. Toss vegetables with oil, a sprinkle of salt and pepper, and italian herbs. Arrange on 2 baking sheets. Bake veggies for about 15 to 20 minutes, stirring once. You want the carrots to be slightly tender and the vegetables to have a bit of brown on them.

While veggies are roasting cook pasta according to package directions. Drain noodles, but reserve 1C of the pasta water.

In a large bowl, toss pasta, roasted veggies, cherry tomatoes, and enough water to moisten. Taste and add salt/pepper if needed.

Sprinkle with parmesan before serving.

Leave a Reply

