Grilled Honey Lime Chicken

Lately, I’m just not in the mood to clean my dishes. I would instagram a photo of my overflowing sink, but it’s a mess that even the best photo-editing program can’t beautify.

Dishes, forks, knives, spoons, and even parts of my beloved food processor are piling up at an alarming rate. I keep scrubbing a few of the really dirty ones… and before I can even dry the now-clean dishes off, there are a bunch more really dirty ones in my sink. Huh?!?!?!??!?!

Why does this keep happening? Why must I keep dirtying dishes? And why do I love making ridiculously messy dishes that create dishes so dirty they take hours of serious scrubbing and soaking?

Will someone besides Dawn (tough on grease) and this Scotch-Brite pad come over here and do these dishes for me?

Pretty pretty please?

Grilled Honey Lime Chicken
Source: Cooking Classy
Printable Recipe

2lb chicken breasts (boneless, skinless)**
1/4C fresh lime juice (~2-3 limes)
zest of 1 lime
1/4C honey
2T olive oil
1T brown sugar
1T soy sauce
1/2tsp salt
1/2tsp pepper
1/4tsp onion powder
1-2cloves, minced
pinch of cayenne pepper (optional)

Pound chicken out using meat mallet if chicken isn’t an even thickness. Place in shallow dish.
In a small bowl, whisk lime juice, lime zest, brown sugar, soy suace, salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic, and cayenne pepper. Set aside 2T of mixture. Pour the rest (all but 2T) over chicken.
Cover chicken and marinate for minimum of 8hrs (suggest: overnight).
Once chicken marinated, heat grill. Grill chicken for 5-8 minutes per side (until thoroughly cooked!). During the last minute of cooking, baste chicken with 2T of reserved marinade.
Remove chicken from grill. Allow to rest for a few minutes prior to serving.

**I haven’t tried, but my gut tells me this marinade would be tasty on tofu as well.

Leave a Reply

