Transparent Dangling Carrots on Long Car Trips

I have sad news. My vacation is over. I went home to Minnesota to look for lakes and laugh out loud with my wonderful family. Mission accomplished: I saw lots of lakes and laughed. I laughed a lot.

Today, I drove from Minneapolis to Chicago. I don’t like driving. Every mile feels like is an eternity.

My foot likes making my car go faster and faster despite my better judgement.

Today, I sat in construction traffic for way too long.

Today, I drank far too much coffee, at least my bladder thought so.

Every stoplight was red, every cop was out looking for speeders, every driver was cutting me off – the world was against me and my little silver car today.

Luckily, I had the one (and only) thing that can turn a long, lonely car ride into a tolerable event: an iPod full of Alanis Morissette songs.

I sang all of her greatest hits for approximately 7.5 hours straight. I screeched. I shouted. I hollered. I tried to hit all the right notes. In my mind, I sounded just like her. I’m sure people were staring as I zipped past them because I’m not shy about really getting into my car-singing routine. Songs have lyrics. Lyrics contain words. Words need hand motions. What can I say? I truly feel the music. I’m a car-singing artist wannabe.

Tomorrow, I’ll be back at work. back to the grind. back to reality. ugh.

Tomorrow, I will most certainly be voiceless because of the 500miles of car singing.

But tonight, I’ve got one Hand in My Pocket and You Oughta Know what I’m talking about.

Thank U, Alanis. I would’ve quit driving near Madison had it not been for your angry, yet consoling tunes.

I made these cookies because my gluten-free aunt came to visit. I munched on the leftovers on my car trip (in between songs of course). I fell Head Over Heels for these chocolate-y, brownie-like delights. Alanis Morisette is vegan. These cookies are not. Isn’t it Ironic? Dontcha think?***

*** This isn’t an example of irony. I just couldn’t resist using one more song reference.

Chewy Chocolate Almond Cookies
Source: Cook Like a Champion, originally from Tasty Kitchen
Printable Recipe

8oz semi-sweet chocolate
3T butter
2eggs
1/3C granulated sugar + extra for rolling
3/4C finely ground almonds or almond flour**

Melt chocolate over a double boiler or using microwave. Once melted, stir in butter until melted.
In a separate bowl, whisk together sugar and eggs until light and frothy. Add in almond flour and chocolate mixture. Stir until combined. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.
Preheat oven to 325. Roll into 1-inch balls. Roll in extra granulated sugar.
Place on parchment-lined baking sheets. Bake for 8-10minutes.
Enjoy.

**you can use slivered, blanched almonds – just grind them in the food processor for a few minutes to make your own almond flour.

Leave a Reply

