Eating Purple Cow

Oh me. Oh my. Oh me. Oh my.

This frozen yogurt changed my life.

Blackberry puree transforms bland white Greek yogurt into a vibrant purple color with a tangy, tart flavor. Toss in a few chocolate ‘spots’ and you’ve got yourself some serious frozen yogurt.

I’m not exaggerating. Seriously, this is not a hyperbole: this is the best frozen yogurt in the galaxy.

I always taste the liquid ‘base’ to make sure it’s going to be great when it’s frozen. One spoonful became six spoonfuls became I-better-freeze-this-before-I-eat-all-of-it. I’m not joking – this is amazing stuff.

 

 

Purple Cow Frozen Yogurt
Source: Cook Like a Champion, originally Erin Cooks
Printable Recipe 

3C greek yogurt
2/3C sugar
1tsp vanilla extract
pinch of salt
2C blackberries
1/2 to 3/4C chocolate chips

In a bowl, combine yogurt (recommend using full-fat for best results), sugar, vanilla, and salt. Stir until combined.
In a food processor, purree blackberries. Strain puree to get rid of the seeds. Add puree to yogurt mixture and stir until combined.
Taste and add more sugar if needed. I like it to be more tart, but you may need to add a few more tablespoons of sugar if your berries are too tart.
Add mixture to your ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturers directions. In the last 2-3 minutes, add chocolate.
Freeze. Scoop. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

