Blackberry Lemonade

I pride myself in acting tough, smiling when I feel weak, and laughing through a little pain.

I have a cold right now.

I faked it all day at work. I smiled at everyone. I sniffled silently.

But now, I need to complain.

My entire body aches aches aches, my throat burns like a forest fire, my nose is dripping like a faucet, and my head is paining as if something is really wrong in there…

this may be melodramatic…

but I feel the worst right now. The absolute worst. Actually, I feel worse than the worst. I feel the worstest.

I’m laying on the couch in a sweatshirt that might not be clean, a box of tissues to my right, a remote to my left – I’m in survival mode.

Try as I might, I can’t sleep. So I’m blogging – blogging about my current state.

I bet you’re so glad you read this post.

Once my throat stops paining and my taste buds start functioning, I might want something refreshing to drink.

This should work.

Blackberry Lemonade
Source: Pastry Affair
Printable Recipe 

6C water
1C sugar
1C fresh-squeezed lemon juice (~5-6 lemons depending on size)
1 pint fresh blackberries

In a saucepan, bring 2C of water and sugar to boil stirring occasionally. Turn off heat once sugar is dissolved. Allow to cool.
Combine lemon juice and blackberries in a blender. Blend until pureed. Strain mixture – unless you love a very seedy drink.
In a large pitcher, combine remaining 4C water, sugar-water, and blackberry puree. Refrigerate and serve.

Leave a Reply

