Cheese-less Fettucini Alfredo, Purple Red Grapes, and Other Randoms

1. I love the smell of garlic on my hands. It bothers me when people buy pre-peeled or pre-chopped garlic. You are really missing out.

2. I appreciate the occasional onion-induced cry. It’s a challenge  to me- human vs the onion. I almost always lose that battle.

3. Whenever I see a lemon, I just have to bite into a little piece. A puckered sour lemon face suits me well.

4. If I had to choose, I would declare swiss chard and eggplant to be among the most beautiful vegetables.

5. I don’t like cherry tomatoes or slices of raw tomato on sandwiches. It’s my life goal to learn to like them, which is why I buy them and force myself to eat them. I create my own misery.

6. Blueberries are really Purpleberries – at least that’s what I think.  Red grapes are usually purple, not red. I’m all sorts of confused. Limes are actually lime. My faith in humanity is restored.

7. Pineapple and cantaloupe are my favorite fruits to consume. Pineapple and cantaloupe are my least favorite fruits to cut/slice/dice.

8. I scrub the outside of all my fruit – including pineapple and cantaloupe. You can call me crazy. I call myself listeria-free.

9. I like a little spice in my life (and in my kitchen), which is why I almost always pick up at least one pepper when I go the grocery store. Sometimes I go mild with a poblano, sometimes crazy hot with a habanero – sometimes, I grab a mystery pepper. I’ll be the first to admit I’ve had some ‘wow i can barely smell this let alone eat this’ stir-frys. Just add more rice and consume with milk. Nothing is a problem.

10. I like my bananas moderately freckled. Don’t you dare hand me an all-yellow banana. It still needs time to ripen, man.

I have lots more opinions when it comes to food. One thing I used to always believe is that cheese sauce must have actual cheese. My vegan brother disagrees. I won’t say that I’m a complete cheese-less cheese dish convert, but this cheese-less, cream-less sauce did not disappoint one bit. You can give me this delicious cheese-less fettucini alfredo dish any day, just don’t tell me that blueberry is blue and don’t you dare hand me a yellow banana.

My sauce was a little gritty – should’ve blended it a bit longer. Live and learn. Live and learn.

Fettucini Alfredo
Source: Chloe’s Kitchen
Printable Recipe

1T olive oil
1 small onion, chopped
3-4 cloves garlic, chopped
1C raw cashews or blanched slivered almonds**
2C water
2tsp white miso paste
1T lemon juice
pepper
flat-leaf parsley for garnish
1lb fettucini noodles
extras: roasted broccoli or other veggie

In a small pan, heat olive oil. Sauté onion until translucent, about 3 minutes. Add garlic and cook for about 1 minute, until fragrant. Turn off heat and allow to cool.

In a blender, combine cooled onion/garlic mixture, nuts, water, miso paste, lemon juice, and pepper. Blend on high for 2-3 minutes, until creamy. Taste and add pepper if desired. **Note: If you are not using a vitamix (or very very spiffy blender), soak nuts in water for several hours (up to overnight) prior to blending. This will soften them slightly.

Cook noodles according to package directions. Combine cooked noodles and sauce. Add a tablespoon or so of water if sauce is too thick. Garnish with parsley, veggies, or meatless ‘chicken’ strips (recommend: Gardein)

Leave a Reply

