Fiery Tofu and Coconut Curry Soup

It seemed like a typical Tuesday.

As usual, I was running 5 minutes late, frantically throwing on clothes, applying mascara, and taming my wild hair in an attempt to get to work. I threw on one shoe and hobbled to my car as I rotated my ankle back and forth in a vain attempt to get my other shoe on.

I sped to work, pulled into the first available parking spot, got out of the car and… something felt wrong.

Something felt very wrong.

I looked down.

 Instantly, it was clear the kind of day I was about to have.

Do you see it? The problem?

No, it’s not my vein-y feet. (that’s genetic I think)

No, it’s not my razor-burned legs. (I need to use more shaving cream)

Allow me to change the exposure, adjust the shadows, rotate the picture, and add graphics so that you can better view the situation:

My penchant for similarly stylized, black flats had finally become an actual problem.

Although each foot looked great alone, together they would never work, not even if I argued it was a cool, artistic, and semi-hipster look I was trying to achieve.

Never one to let a little mismatched shoe dilemma hold me back, I simply went to work with my dissimilar footwear.

It’s better than Diddle, Diddle, Dumbling, My Son John. At least I had managed to put 2 shoes on. Right?

I survived the day at work. No one even mentioned my mismatched situation.

Perhaps they didn’t notice. Perhaps they didn’t care.

Perhaps, like me, they realized that life goes on, heterogenous shoes and all.

Enough with shoe drama and life lessons, let’s be adventurous and make some semi-spicy, coconut curry soup with green beans, carrots, and tofu.

Fiery Tofu and Coconut Curry Soup
Source: Cooking Light Way to Cook Vegetarian Cookbook
Printable Recipe

2T oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4C red curry paste
1T dark brown sugar
2 (13.5 oz) can light coconut milk
2 1/2C vegetable broth
1/4C fresh lime juice (~1 lime)
2T fresh ginger, chopped
2T reduced-sodium soy sauce
2C thinly sliced carrots (~ 3-4 medium carrots)
1 1/2C green beans, cut into 1 inch pieces
1 (14oz) package extra-firm (or firm) tofu, drained and cubed into 1 inch pieces
1/4 – 1/2C fresh cilantro, roughly chopped

Heat oil in large pot. Add garlic and sauté for about 30 seconds, until fragrant. Add curry paste. Stir constantly for about 1 minute. Add brown sugar. Stir for 30 seconds. Add coconut milk, vegetable broth, lime juice, ginger and soy sauce. Bring to a simmer and allow to cook for 1 hour. Add carrot and cook for 6-8 minutes. Add green beans and cook for 5 minutes, until tender. Add cut tofu and allow to heat through, about 2 minutes. Taste and add salt if needed. Serve garnished with cilantro.

Leave a Reply

