Zucchini Noodles and All Things Bad

I saw these bad boys at the grocery store the other day.

Bad boys, Bad boys
Whatcha gonna do? 
Whatcha gonna do when they come for you? 

Don’t pretend you didn’t just sing that aloud like I did.

It was love at first sight first zucchini. I bought them along with a few other choice ingredients, and hurried home to make something delicious.

I looked at my beautiful zucchini with their tight vibrant green skin.

I admired them for a moment.

Then I julienned the heck out of them.

Warning: A few zucchini were harmed in the making of this photo.

Sorry. I just had to do this.

Then I blanched them in boiling water for 2-3 minutes and threw together a quick sun dried tomato pesto.

Once they were done cooking, I strained them, topped them with a few spoonfuls of pesto, and stirred until my heart was content.

Then I ate until my stomach was content.

Bad Boys Bad Boys
Watcha gonna do?
Whatcha gonna do when they come for you? 

I’ll make this zucchini dish. That’s what I’ll do.

Moral of the story: Bad boys make delicious zucchini noodles.

Zucchini Noodles and Sundried Tomato Pesto
Source: Pesto by Giada de Laurentis and  Noodles by Whisked
Printable Recipe

For the noodles:
2-4 medium sized zucchini (I would say 1.5 to 2 per person)
salt

For the pesto:
1 jar (8.5oz) sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil **
2 cloves garlic
1C fresh basil leaves
1/2C grated parmesan (optional)
salt, pepper
olive oil

For the noodles:
Bring a pot of water to a boil. Add a pinch of salt. Using a peeler (or other device of choice), julienne zucchini. I opted to rotate the zucchini as I peeled – ultimately, forming a square ‘core’  of seeds which I didn’t turn into noodles – I saved it for a rainy day instead. Separate the strands. Add strands to boiling water and let cook for 2-3 minutes. Technically, you could just eat your noodles raw if your into that sort of thing. Strain noodles and serve immediately with a scoop of pesto, a dollop of sauce, or maybe a sprinkle of cheese. Note: reserve 1C hot zucchini water for the pesto.

For the pesto:
Add tomatoes, garlic, basil, salt and pepper to food processor. Pulse until tomatoes and all ingredients are finely processed. Note: if using sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil, add the oil into the processor with the other ingredients. If you are using sun-dried tomatoes without oil, add a few tablespoons (lets say 2-3) in with the tomato/garlic/basil mixture. Transfer mixture to a bowl. Stir in parmesan.

For the dish: Add a scoop of pesto to hot zucchini noodles. Moisten with reserved zucchini water (a few teaspoons at a time until desired consistency achieved). Serve.

** I used the sun-dried tomatoes available in the bags (aka not packed in oil). I simply added olive oil into the pesto to achieve the desired consistency. It worked fine.

Note: I bought a relatively cheap OXO julienne peeler. It serves its purpose. I don’t think it will last forever, but I didn’t feel like investing in a nice one if I wasn’t going to use it all the time.

Leave a Reply

